Caring.com
Caring.com

(800) 558-0653

Heartland Health Care Center

3648 University Blvd S, Jacksonville, FL 32216

(855) 798-2040 (Call a Family Advisor)

1.91

(12 reviews)

Offers Nursing Homes

Heartland Health Care Center Photos

Get Cost Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking Get Costs, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to  receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

What you can do with Caring

  • Search the Caring database

    Quickly search the largest online senior living and senior care directory

  • Read reviews and expert guidance

    Read our authentic consumer reviews and content by experts

  • Speak to a Family Advisor for free

    Guided, expert advice to find the best community or agency for you

  • Take a tour to decide yourself

    We’ll help you book tours or get in touch with local agencies

Community Comparison

Currently Viewing

Heartland Health Care Center
Heartland Health Care Center
  • Top rated on Caring.com

Jacksonville, Florida 32216


1.9

(12 reviews)


Bedroom Type


Starting Price

Pricing not available



Care Types

Nursing Homes

View Community

Fountains at Mill Cove

Jacksonville, Florida 32225



Bedroom Type

one bedroom apartment, two bedroom apartment, studio


Starting Price

$2,300/mo



Care Types

Assisted Living, Independent Living, Memory Care, Continuing Care Communities, Nursing Homes

View Community

Cypress Village

Jacksonville, Florida 32224



Bedroom Type

one bedroom apartment, two bedroom apartment, studio


Starting Price

$2,400/mo



Care Types

Memory Care, Independent Living, Nursing Homes, Assisted Living, Continuing Care Communities

View Community
Get cost information
Find out availability
Ask about payment options

Reviews of Heartland Health Care Center in Jacksonville, Florida

1.91

(12 reviews)

  • Facility

    3.3

  • Staff

    3.0

  • Food

    2.0

  • Activities

    2.0

  • Value

    2.0

surfgirl

1

November 3, 2020

I am/was a resident of this facility

This facility needs to be shut down. I was a patient there for a few days. I had to leave. The staff was so rude, telling me I couldn't take a shower. I saw the shower room, how filthy!! The food is horrible and recycled. They brought me a tuna fish sandwich thank God I could smell it, that I didn't touch it or try to eat it because I am allergic. For 3 days I had no medicine. I had to buy my own drinks out of the vending machine because this facility has nothing to offer the patients. Th place is filthy. I was there 5 days and not once was my bed changed. The noise level is outrageous. Staff yelling, swearing. No activities, visitors nothing. The bed was old and uncomfortable. The people just don't care. Please don't send your family members or friends to this facility. They didn't help me at all. They just want the money.

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line by calling or emailing.

CMA

4

March 8, 2019

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My father is in Heartland Health Care Center. He has some serious health issues, but they didn't seem to be terribly concerned about that for some reason. Other than that, it's been pretty good. Their employees are good for the most part, some are kind of disagreeable, some aren't. It's kept up and it's clean, but it feels like an institution. His room is comfortable. They don't have rails on the beds to prevent people from falling, which I think is a problem.

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience with some of the staff at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line.

lesley24

1

January 30, 2018

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Do NOT send anyone here. They provide awful care and are very irresponsible. They released a person that had dementia and was still in pain without telling anyone until he was on the way home. Please do not go here.

wronged

1

November 7, 2017

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

If you care about your family member at all,do not send them to this facility. My 74 year old mother went there for rehab. It's not clean by no means. My mother put her light on to go to the bathroom, they never came so she tried to go herself and fell. Nurse finally came in and found her. The nurses are lazy and don't want to be bothered. One nurse rolled her eyes at me when i asked for apple juice for my mother.On the day I was supposed to bring her home,she was supposed to already be discharged when I got there. Needless to say,she wasnt. Had to wait over 2 hours for that to happen. Nurse said dr. phoned in prescriptions. I went to pharmacy to get them only to be told that they were never called in. After calling heartland back numerous times they finally told me that they don't give out prescriptions, that they were supposed to give my mother enough meds to go her until she saw her primary dr. Now I have to go back today, which is almost an hour away just to get those meds. THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING THERE. I just don't understand how they can be considered a 5 star place because they sure are not.

fredascott

2

April 10, 2017

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

It is lovely when u walk through the door its smells and the CNA r overwhelmed

Notafan57

1

January 18, 2017

I am/was a resident of this facility

I'm very disappointed here. When I got here I wasn't greeted by my nurse I got to see him after I complained about not getting my meds.he was very rude he told me that because I came in after med rounds that I could not get them mind you I have heart trouble and serveral of my meds I can not go without finally after a scene he brought them to me and when he was showing them to me he was shoving them in my face. They really need to do something about him I will not be coming back

Jody S

1

January 14, 2017

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

If you care about your family members well being this is not the place for them. The staff is lazy and rude. They do not do the medication rounds properly or on time.If family members are diabetic they are in trouble they never check sugar levels. Heartland didn't even have him in the computer as diabetic when my family member arrived from the hospital. The more you ask for help the less you get. It was a very horrifying experience. He had a knee replacement and went there for therapy. They wanted to know why he couldn't walk. They got him a walker to get into bed then took it away saying it was another patients. Less than 24 hours later I called to have them get him ready to be released. The physical therapist came in and when my husband said he was leaving in the afternoon he left. NO physical therapy. The whole placed reeked of urine. You can really tell that it is the higher level of staff that creates this chaotic situation and I mean in administration. There is no integrity with the administration.

Ez going

1

July 14, 2015

I am a friend or relative of resident

If you care about your family members well being this is probably not the place for them. The staff is not helpful at all. They do not do the medication rounds properly or on time.If family members are diabetic they are in trouble they never check sugar levels. Heartland didn't even have her in the computer as diabetic when my family member arrived from the hospital. The more you ask for help the less you get. It was a very disappointing experience. If you love them and they have serious health problems I would never let them come here. I am sorry for the few of you that did a good job there but the overall performance was very pitiful for most of the people there but thank you to the ones that did try. You can really tell that it is the higher level of staff that creates this chaotic situation and I mean in administration. There is no integrity with the administration.

Pamela31

3

March 18, 2015

I am a friend or relative of a resident

The physical therapy and the nurse assistant was very well at Heartland, but the actual care plan I would rate even a 1 because I didn’t get any attention for my brother until two days before he was being discharged, and I would have rather discussed the care plan before leaving after he had been in for a month. I think the care plan needs to be discussed day one that the family member or the person is admitted in and not two days before they are being discharged. It made me feel like because the state was not supplying the funds, they no longer wanted to take care of my brother. Although he is doing much better because of the physical therapy he received, it’s just the personal communication was not good from the top level, and that is the part that is normally good. Everything was clean and well maintained.

Caring79627750

2

March 31, 2014

I am a friend or relative of a resident

I didn't like Heartland. I could have put Mom in a long-term bed there, but I chose not to. One of the biggest things was the location. Proximity was a big thing and then the fact that it just wasn't as homey. There weren't places to go easily so you could be by yourself or just go to visit. It wasn't anything to do with the staff. The staff were very helpful; they were nice. The front staff members who helped me were good. They probably didn't have as much management. I don't think the right level of care was there. She'd been out of the hospital for two weeks, and it's like they had an IV put back in her. It's unacceptable. They'd put the food in front of her, and we'd have to cut it up so she could eat it. I wouldn't know if it was lunch time. The patients were waiting for their lunches, and the breakfast dishes were still in there. Somebody could look in there and think they'd already gotten their food. I wasn't really pleased with them.

Caring66269250

4

January 18, 2014

I am a friend or relative of a resident

After the car wrecked my friend broke his ankle and he had his rehab in Hearthland Rehab Center (Heartland Health Care Center). The staff and the rehabilitation services had been very good. The food had been very good and he enjoyed it. The rooms were small and a little crowded for two patients. I would like to see it a little larger. Other than that, I had no complaints at all.

arlene levin

2

August 12, 2009

My loved one stayed here

The physical therapy my LO received at Heartland was outstanding. However the nursing care is way below standard. If your love oned ends up here you must be an on premises advocate at all times or LO will suffer. Keep yourslef informed as most of the nursing staff seems to have received low level training. After 2months elsewhere without any bedsores or diaper rash our LO had both within a week. We had multiple issues of our LO being left with no access to a call button leaving him vulnerable to choking. Not to mention the stench! Beware!!!

What you can do with Caring

  • Search the Caring database

    Quickly search the largest online senior living and senior care directory

  • Read reviews and expert guidance

    Read our authentic consumer reviews and content by experts

  • Speak to a Family Advisor for free

    Guided, expert advice to find the best community or agency for you

  • Take a tour to decide yourself

    We’ll help you book tours or get in touch with local agencies

Services and Amenities of Heartland Health Care Center in Jacksonville, Florida

General

  • Resident Capacity: 117

Medicare

  • Health

    3.0

  • Overall

    3.0

  • Quality

    4.0

  • Staff

    3.0

Medicare Provider Number: 105366
    Ownership Type: Non profit - Corporation
    Rating Date: 9/1/2023

About Heartland Health Care Center in Jacksonville, Florida

Map of Heartland Health Care Center

Help seniors by writing a review

If you have firsthand experience with a community or home care agency, share your review to help others searching for senior living and care.

Request Pricing Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking Get Costs, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to  receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.
alt text

Compare costs, photos & reviews of senior living and care options near you.

 

Questions?

Call to speak to one of Caring’s Family Advisors, or submit a request for more information here.

(855) 798-2040

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Caring's Family Advisors can help answer your questions, schedule tours, and more.

Call us at (855) 798-2040

Helpful Articles

Senior Living Communities near Duval County, FL

  • Nassau County
  • Clay County
  • Camden County
  • Putnam County
  • Columbia County
  • Alachua County
Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Our Services

  • Senior Living Directory

  • Senior Care Directory

  • Caregiving Resources

  • Sitemap

  • Terms of Use

  • Privacy Policy


© 2024 Caring, LLC. All rights reserved.