Caring.com
Caring.com

(800) 558-0653

Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center

5401 Sawyer Rd, Sarasota, FL 34233

(800) 558-0653 (Call a Family Advisor)

3.05

(20 reviews)

Offers Nursing Homes
utm test

Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center Photos

Get Cost Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking Get Costs, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to  receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

Community Comparison

Currently Viewing

Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center
Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center
  • Top rated on Caring.com

Sarasota, Florida 34233


3.1

(20 reviews)


Bedroom Type


Starting Price

Pricing not available



Care Types

Nursing Homes

View Community

Brookdale Palmer Ranch

Sarasota, Florida 34238



Bedroom Type

one bedroom apartment, two bedroom apartment, studio


Starting Price

$300/mo



Care Types

Nursing Homes, Memory Care, Assisted Living

View Community

Sarasota Point Rehabilitation Center

Sarasota, Florida 34237



Bedroom Type


Starting Price

Pricing not available



Care Types

Nursing Homes, Assisted Living

View Community
Get cost information
Find out availability
Ask about payment options

Reviews of Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center in Sarasota, Florida

3.05

(20 reviews)

  • Facility

    2.8

  • Staff

    3.1

  • Food

    2.2

  • Activities

    2.9

  • Value

    3.4

Jen lee

1

October 30, 2023

I visited this facility

I visited a friend here yesterday. After she’s recovering from hip surgery. They don’t care. The food is horrible and the worst is that she had to use the bathroom and waited over a half hour for someone to get to her . She couldn’t wait and ended up peeing in the bed . And had to sit in it until someone arrived . She said it was dehumanizing. She cried to me. I felt so bad and that’s why I had to write this review.

Jessica Southers

1

July 18, 2023

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

This is now called Crescent health & Rehabilitation Center... This place is HORRIBLE and the manager Maria does not care about complaints. My grandmother was at this facility for months. They went without ice for their drinks and were served warm sodas.. The "protocol" they have in place for covid is not kept up with. Nurses and staff walk in and out of positive covid rooms into not positive covid rooms spreading germs. They do not move patients ( there are 2 to a room ) if one tests positive they DO NOT move the other one! My grandmother ended up getting covid and was supposed to be given medication and she was given ONE dose on a Tuesday and not a 2nd dose until Saturday! After SHE had to tell them.. that's not the worst part, lets get into how she had several surgeries on her leg and her bandages were supposed to be changed twice a day and were NOT changed for 5 days! The bandages adhered to her skin and the nurses then tried to soak them in saline solution to pull them apart from her skin as she is screaming and crying in pain. Please do not put your loved ones in this facility! They do not care about their residents, their ice machine was broken for some time leaving them to only drink tap water, the hot water was also not working for some time so imagine being an elderly patient having to take a cold shower! Then forget the HELP button in the bathroom, it was rang several times to never be answered, her therapist is the one who found her and helped her, not a nurse.

InFaith

1

November 22, 2021

I am/was a resident of this facility

5 am call for a nurse. Called 3 times. Finally came with my pain meds 2 hours later. Original cal. Was for cream on my back as I’ve developed a rash since arriving 3 nights ago. Still no cream. Nurse said well, there are place rules of other people here. I would love a visit from the charge nurse. Requested twice already and nothing. Food is not nourishing. The CNA’s are fairly responsive. It’s clear they are under staffed, but there is zero compassion. Rooms are dirty, heater vent is disgusting.

Provider Response

Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention. While we cannot discuss patient care in a public forum, could you please contact us on our Care Line by calling or emailing? We would like to hear more about your experience.

mbjer

1

July 6, 2021

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

15 days ago my mother fell and broke her hip. 7days post op she was transferred to this facility. This morning she was placed on quarantine because she isn’t and won’t be vaccinated. An employee falsely stated that my mother said she had a violent reaction to the first vaccine. Not only are they lying they are also preventing her from continuing with the physical therapy they started.

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience with the care and communication at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line by calling or emailing.

one unhappy bug

2

June 21, 2021

I am/was a resident of this facility

Where do I begin? I spent 13 days in this facility it’s full of some very wonderful people and the rest don’t live up to their potential. I was told by SMH to only bring my mask to my CPAP machine and nothing else. When I arrived there was a really nice looking machine in my room, but no one knew how it worked. The gentleman that did know how to operate it showed up on Friday Four days after my check in . I had to have a friend bring my machine up after two days. I was promised a new bed it got as far as the hallway were it sat for 4 days. We spent 3 1/2 days with no TV . Many of the morning CNA’s brought in my breakfast pushed full urinals to the center of table beside my food and left. My pain meds I felt like I had to beg for them some days. We filled out menus on Monday and by Thursday you started to see what you asked for , my first Friday there I opened the lid to find a piece of bread and a piece of lettuce. I really can not say strong enough that if you love who ever you are taking there turn around and run from this place

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience with the care and food at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line by calling or emailing.

The Fraziers

5

June 19, 2021

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Care for my wife was professional, personal, specific to herneeds and considerate. She was treated with great respect. She and I became very close to several of the nurses and attendants. Those who attended her seemed to have a special gift for what they were doing. They loved her and she loved them. Likewise, there was a degree of socialization with other patients. They became friends with each other, under the watchful care of staff. My wife died in that facility. She died among friends.

Provider Response

Thank you for sharing Frazier family! We are glad to hear you were happy with your wife's care and even during this difficult time in your family's life you found our staff to be caring, responsive and helpful.

LindaGill

1

May 28, 2021

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

This review is specifically for Heartland in North sarasota. I don't even think this place deserves one star! What a terrible place to commit your loved ones for "care and therapy" I feel so so bad for putting an elderly relative here so she could get some physical therapy and medical help to aid her on the road to recovery from a fall. She had PT twice a week and that was maybe half hour max depending on the time the PT had between patients. If the patient was slow on walker and machines in gym then they got 15 minutes if even that! Times for PT OT were very inconsistent each day. The food was terrible. I was here most days and saw what was given to patients as a "healthy meal" I had to bring nutritious food from outside. Medications were given in one batch in the mornings...even though some of them were clearly labeled for "night time only or just before bedtime" because they caused severe drowsiness. Of course my relative was always sleepy when I visited in the day. She was given all these pills so it was easier for the staff because she was sleeping most of the day and given meds in one go. That pretty much rendered the PT and any other help she got useless. Nothing happened on weekends. The nurse's aids were fantastic and friendly as was Vanessa the NP. The administration was not very helpful or compassionate except for the first few days when you sign up for their business and services and they want your money. After that they ignore you. Brenda the social worker was very nasty. I hope no one has to deal with her. She was very derogatory, very uncaring and unhelpful and should never be a social worker anywhere let alone in a facility like this! Rooms were cold. Facility was old. Please, if you care for your loved ones look for somewhere else.

Provider Response

Linda, we are sorry that you had a negative experience with the staff at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line by calling or emailing.

EXP-FL

5

January 5, 2021

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

It is a stressful event for the patient / resident and his family to move into a rehab or long term care facility. The Heartland team made the transition and stay as good a possible. My uncle achieved much greater physical recovery during his stay than I ever thought possible. Every facility has 4 walls and a roof. The team is the difference. The Heartland tea was exceptional. Highly recommended.

Provider Response

Thank you for sharing! We are glad to hear you were happy with your loved one's care and that even during such a stressful time it's good to hear we worked so well with you uncle to provide such wonderful care.

sandswtch

5

May 26, 2020

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

I wanted to thank Cheyenne the administrator for all she did for my husband. He had only been transferred there for one day and he had to go back to the hospital for continued care. Cheyenne took the time to explain what was going on,took care of my husbands things-which I had dropped off til he was released from the hospital to go to another hospital, She kept in touch with me and when I needed for my husband's things needed to be delivered to the hospital she took them there. This is excellent customer service and she truly is an asset to your company. She is an angel and I can't tell you how much it was appreciated. Very few places would have done what she has done for me and my husband and I am truly grateful.

Provider Response

Thank you for sharing! We are so glad to hear you were happy with your husband's care and that our team worked so well with your family to make sure that your husband's needs were met.

One of the best rehab hospitals in Sarasota

5

May 26, 2019

I am/was a resident of this facility

As one ages the need for the service of a rehab hospital increase. Being in our late 80s my wife an I have used several different ones in Sarasota. This is the best one we have used. The rooms are large, the equipment is excellent,, and the staff outstanding

Provider Response

Thanks for sharing! We are glad to hear you and your wife feel our center is the best rehab center in Sarasota. Also that you thought our staff were outstanding.

sportsfan161

2

November 30, 2018

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Do not be fooled by the fancy architecture and indoor decor. I would not send my worst enemy here! Major autoimmune disease diagnosis omitted from my husband's records that affected other aspects of care. Frequent pain medication delays of 1-2 hrs. which affected my husband's ability to do prescribed physical therapy. The center discharged him suddenly prior to upcoming back surgery him because they said he had "refused PT." If he had gotten medications on schedule that would not have happened. In addition, there was no consistency with physical therapists which contributed to our problems. Some were completely ignorant about working with nerve pain patients versus muscle pain patients. PTs & OTs didn't adhere to schedule provided to patient every morning often coming several hours early and disrupting family visits and conflicting with outside Dr. appointments Dietician would not follow Dr's instructions until about 10 days had passed. The regular diet is VERY high in carbs and a lot of the meat & fish is breaded. Other nursing homes & hospitals provide carafes of water for patients on their bed tables. Here, the patient has to ask for a cup of water which takes time away from aide's more important duties and increases the likelihood of dehydration, a problem for about 50% of the geriatric population in general. Patient bathrooms frequently have NO TOWELS! What towels exist are cheap, non-absorbent and feel like sandpaper. Old peoples' skin is fragile so the towels increase the likelihood of skin injury or worsening decubitus ulcers. One administrator I spoke to had never felt the towels but you would never use them to clean your glasses! Weekend staff is particularly undertrained and sometimes downright rude. Some nurses & aides are truly wonderful, but there is an equal number of really stupid ones.

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience with your husband's care and some of the staff at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line.

c.ziesen

4

December 14, 2017

I am/was a resident of this facility

I choose Heartland because I did pet therapy with my dog Sunny for a year and new it was a caring place, when I had hip replacement was glad they could take me. Everyone who works there treated me great and the pt department got me started back to health . Sunny and I will return as soon as possible but as volunteers. Please thank the entire staff for me they are the best.

maddie0

5

June 15, 2017

I am/was a resident of this facility

I was at Heartland after my knee replacement. The staff were tremendous. They went above and beyond to meet my needs. I choose Heartland based on a friends recommendation I am so pleased I listened. I got the jump start I needed with therapy to get me back to my life quickly.

Provider Response

Thanks for sharing Maddie! We are glad to hear you felt our staff went above and beyond to help you during your recovery.

Minnesota Daughter

1

February 28, 2017

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My Father had a terrible experience here! He was a short term patient recovering from a broken hip and his stay started off terrible and finished with a trip back to the hospital. He later went to Healthsouth and had a great experience there! PT and OT therapists at Heartland were good as well as the doctor. However, the rest of the care was very poor!

Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a negative experience with your father's care at our center. Although we cannot discuss any specific issues on this site due to patient privacy, we would like to talk with you about your concerns. Please contact our Care Line.

aprilwine1986

5

January 6, 2017

I visited this facility

Great center

Provider Response

Thank you for sharing Aprilwine!

MJ Size

3

July 26, 2016

I am/was a resident of this facility

Just came home after a 4 week stay for rehab after a total hip replacement. The food was horrible! That was not just my experience because I found out that none or at least very few of them ate the food themselves. Most of the staff and therapists were very friendly and compassionate. There were just a few exceptions. My main complaint is that the maintenance is extremely lacking. My bathroom was only cleaned after I made several requests, and the floors were cleaned only twice in the 4 weeks I was there. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable! I do believe that the therapy program is a good one or this review would only give 2 stars.

Loving_daughter!

1

August 20, 2015

I am a friend or relative of resident

My mother rehabbed at Heartland after a brief stay in the hospital and I was onsite 8-10 hours a day. The staff regularly ignored requests for information about their course of treatment for her. I repeatedly tried to get the resident physician to address the situation and was repeatedly brushed off. One night she complained of severe stomach pain and the nurse tried to placate her with opioids. The next morning she died. If you care for your parents or loved ones, I suggest you think twice before letting them stay here.

Kathy102486850

5

December 3, 2014

I visited this facility

I love Heartland. The general atmosphere was happy, wonderful, and clean. I was there for 100 days. I fell and broke my spine, and I fell and broke my head. I like it so much I went there, and Medicare would let me do maximum. The staff was wonderful, and the nurses were great. I was on the ground floor. They have three sections; they have fast track, where they have 60 beds in one wing for people from the hospital that are sick and too sick to go home, regular, post-hospital, they have a wing for assisted living, and then they have a dementia wing. I am paralyzed from the waist down; I fell and broke my back twice. First the lower part and then the top part. I have had back surgery, and now I can’t walk at all. I went to Heartland’s, but I still could walk before I fell. I went there because of my new hip and my fractured thigh; it was a very bad fracture, and they hadn’t seen a fracture as bad as my mine. I went there for us to work for rehab and for therapy, and I got the best care ever. I would pick that as number 1 for everything. Most are private rooms; they have an area of 60 beds that are for people from the hospital that need to be watched before they can go home, and the hospital wasn't to take care of them there. So that was why I went, and I needed immediate therapy. There food is no different than in any hospital; they’re all the same.

Jan17

4

July 3, 2014

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My husband had been in Heartland Health Care and Rehabilitation Center for about three months. It was 20 miles away from my home so it wasn't convenient. The facility has a much better reputation though and I was happy with them. They were very good. It was an older place but it was very clean and homey. Their rooms were a little bit smaller but that's understandable because it is an older institution. The staff was great. They have many activities for residents to participate. I had a couple of lunches there visiting my husband and it was okay. The only improvement I can think of about this place is that it needs some updating.

Jan25

4

December 31, 2013

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My husband had been in Heartland Health Care and Rehabilitation Center for about three months. It was 20 miles away from my home so it wasn't convenient. The facility has a much better reputation though and I was happy with them. They were very good. It was an older place but it was very clean and homey. Their rooms were a little bit smaller but that's understandable because it is an older institution. The staff was great. They have many activities for residents to participate. I had a couple of lunches there visiting my husband and it was okay. The only improvement I can think of about this place is that it needs some updating.

What you can do with Caring

  • Search the Caring database

    Quickly search the largest online senior living and senior care directory

  • Read reviews and expert guidance

    Read our authentic consumer reviews and content by experts

  • Speak to a Family Advisor for free

    Guided, expert advice to find the best community or agency for you

  • Take a tour to decide yourself

    We’ll help you book tours or get in touch with local agencies

Services and Amenities of Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center in Sarasota, Florida

General

  • Resident Capacity: 140

Medicare

  • Health

    4.0

  • Overall

    4.0

  • Quality

    2.0

  • Staff

    3.0

Medicare Provider Number: 105842
    Ownership Type: For profit - Corporation
    Rating Date: 9/1/2023

About Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center in Sarasota, Florida

Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center is a senior living provider located in Sarasota, Florida. It offers a variety of care types, including short-term rehabilitation care, long-term rehabilitation care, and respite care. This means that whether someone needs a place to recover after a hospital stay or requires ongoing support, Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center has options to meet those needs. Additionally, for those who may need a temporary stay, respite care services are available.

The living spaces at Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center are designed to accommodate different preferences and needs. Residents can choose from private rooms for those who value their own space, or semi-private rooms that are ideal for individuals who prefer a roommate. Some of the rooms come with full kitchens, allowing residents the option to prepare their own meals if they choose. The center ensures that residents feel at home by providing room amenities that contribute to comfort and convenience.

Beyond the rooms, Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center is equipped with a wide range of amenities and services aimed at enhancing the lives of its residents. The community offers organized activities and programs, meals, on-site parking, internet access, and a variety of social and entertainment activities. For those focused on health and wellness, there are activities and programs specifically designed for this, as well as fitness and wellness facilities. Safety is also a priority, with controlled building access and secured outdoor areas. When it comes to services, residents have access to physical and occupational therapy, nurses on staff and on call, medication management, personal care services, and assistance with activities of daily living, ensuring comprehensive care and support.

Map of Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center

Help seniors by writing a review

If you have firsthand experience with a community or home care agency, share your review to help others searching for senior living and care.

Request Pricing Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking "Get Costs", I am providing express written consent to receive calls including automated/pre-recorded calls and automated texts for which I may incur a cost, as well as emails from Caring and its partners. I understand I am not obligated to provide this consent to utilize Caring’s service(s). I acknowledge I was able to review the Agreement to be Contacted, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
alt text

Compare costs, photos & reviews of senior living and care options near you.

 

Questions?

Call to speak to one of Caring’s Family Advisors, or submit a request for more information here.

(800) 558-0653

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Caring's Family Advisors can help answer your questions, schedule tours, and more.

Call us at (855) 948-3865

Helpful Articles

Senior Living Communities near Sarasota County, FL

  • Pinellas County
  • Hardee County
  • De Soto County
  • Hillsborough County
  • Charlotte County
  • Lee County

Senior Living Communities near Sarasota, FL

Crescent Health & Rehabilitation Center

5401 Sawyer Rd, Sarasota, FL 34233

Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Our Services

  • Senior Living Directory

  • Senior Care Directory

  • Caregiving Resources

  • Sitemap

  • Terms of Use

  • Privacy Policy


© 2024 Caring, LLC. All rights reserved.