State Driving Laws in North Carolina
Specific rules for older drivers
- Renewal every 5 years for those 66 and older.
Standard driver's license renewal
- License renewed: Every 8 years, or every 5 years for those 66 and older.
- Renewal conditions: In person, or by mail if out of state for 30 or more days.
- Vision test: Yes.
- Written test: Yes.
- Road test: At the discretion of the examiner.
For more information
North Carolina Department of Transportation
Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3148
Stay Connected With Caring.com
Get news & tips via e-mail