This page explains the Caring Stars award, providing relevant information for seniors and their families, senior living communities, senior care agencies, news media, and the public.

Caring Stars badge

The annual Caring Stars award helps seniors and their families find the best senior living communities, nursing homes, and senior care agencies in the United States. The program also helps winning businesses be recognized for service excellence, generate positive buzz, stand out from their competitors, and boost sales, marketing, PR, recruiting and more!

Caring Stars started in 2012 as the first “best senior living” award in our industry, with winners determined based on consumer ratings and reviews. In 2017, Caring expanded the program to include senior care agencies, including non-medical home care, home healthcare, and hospice providers with business profiles on

There is no award application process or fee to participate; communities and agencies aren’t required to be partnered with Caring to win; and featured winners do not have to pay Caring to license the award badge (Caring instead provides free promotional items for all winners).

Have questions? Please contact or (650) 762-8190.

Caring Stars 2022

Congratulations to the 439 senior living communities and 518 home care agencies who earned the Caring Stars 2022 award! These winning communities and agencies were announced in November and December 2021:

News Media: Please read more about this honor in Caring’s Newsroom, including our press release for senior living, and our press release for senior care. You can also get connected to Caring’s PR team, Caring Stars winners, and other senior care experts for interviews.

Caring Stars Criteria & Methodology

To be considered for the Caring Stars 2022 award, the winning senior living communities, nursing homes and senior care agencies must have had: 

  • 10 or more published consumer reviews on their profile by 10/15/21 
  • An overall average rating of 4.5 stars or higher by 10/15/21
  • 3 or more published consumer reviews from 10/15/20 through 10/15/21, with at least one of the recent reviews being a 5-star review and one or more published in 2021 
  • Public-facing business responses to any 1-star or 2-star negative consumer reviews across all time

After identifying all senior living community and senior care agency profiles on meeting the above criteria, Caring then conducted a reviews-integrity audit for every review on those finalists’ profiles, re-analyzing the consumer reviews against Caring’s high-integrity review guidelines. Another quality-assurance measure Caring took was to screen finalist senior living communities using available licensing and inspection reports on state/government websites, for care levels and states where licensing is required. The audit and screening took place in October and November 2021 for the Caring Stars 2022 winners, with the 2022 senior living list final in November 2021 and senior care list final in December 2021.

Caring Stars 2023

The deadline to qualify for Caring Stars 2023 consideration is October 15, 2022. Caring will examine the reviews for that date and prior to determine the winning senior living communities and senior care agencies for 2023. The exact reviews-based criteria used to identify winners will be revealed in the winner announcements in November and December 2022.

The Best Senior Living Communities & In-Home Care Agencies — A History of Caring Stars Winners Year after Year

Multi-Year Winners or “Caring Super Stars”

Caring Super Stars are senior living communities and senior care agencies who have earned the Caring Stars award in three (3) or more years. They get a special badge and promo kit that is unique from standard winners.

Best Senior Living: Info for Families

Information for Senior Care Providers