(800) 973-1540

State Driving Laws in Iowa

By Caring.com Staff


Specific rules for older drivers

  • License renewed every 2 years for those 70 and older.

Standard driver's license renewal

  • License renewed: Every 2 years for those 70 and older or those under 18. Every 2 years or 5 years, based on a fee structure, for those 18 to 69.
  • Renewal conditions: In person.
  • Vision test: Yes.
  • Written test: No.
  • Road test: If physical or mental conditions (such as changes in health status) warrant.

For more information

Iowa Dept. of Transportation
Office of Driver Services
Motor Vehicle Division
PO Box 9204
Des Moines, IA 50306-9204

Other States