Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

Offers Nursing Homes

48 Reviews
5075 West Seneca Turnpike, Syracuse, NY 13215
Call (315) 449-6000
Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing (315) 449-6000

Reviews of Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

48 Reviews Write a review
(30 Reviews)
(32 Reviews)
(29 Reviews)
(25 Reviews)
(32 Reviews)

Nursing Home Reviews for Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

August 26, 2021

By DallyS

I am/was a resident of this facility

I really appreciate and am so thankful for the concierge services at Van Duyn Center. Mr. Birds and Tarana have treated me with tremendous kindness. I am very grateful to have them there for me, I am alone with no family nearby and they treat me like family. I am also grateful for Danish’s, a CNA who also treats me like family. The teams on my floor, including nurses go above and beyond.

Provider Response

Dally, thank you for leaving a review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful experience at Van Duyn Center in Syracuse, New York. We appreciate your kind words about our nurses, aides, and staff. Thank you for sharing your experience.

August 17, 2021

By martinkeller

I am/was a resident of this facility

Tarana from concierge is wonderful. Nursing staff is overall good. Sally of diet-tech is great, she address all my food related issues. Alif from social work is great, and he encourages me a lot. Van Duyn Center staff loves helping residents and pointing them in the right direction.

Provider Response

Martin, thank you for leaving a review. We are so happy to see that you are having a wonderful stay at Van Duyn Center. We appreciate your kind words about our hard-working team of professionals. Thank you for sharing your experience at Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing.

August 03, 2021

By WilliamN

I am/was a resident of this facility

Nursing was good. Renee from social work was very helpful. Housekeeping was good, they kept my room clean and tidy. Laundry was good, I got my clothes back within 24 hours which was shockingly nice. Concierge was good, and the communication and everyone was nice.

Provider Response

William, thank you for sharing your experience at Van Duyn Center. We are so happy to hear that Renee was very helpful and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our facility. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay, and thank you for your very kind words. THank you for choosing Van Duyn Center in Syracuse, New York.

February 26, 2021

By geob

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

I have a sister who is currently a resident at Van Duyn Floor 4C. My sister is bedridden and therefore completely dependent on the staff for her meals and personal hygiene. The staff has been rude, and belittling to my sister, making her sit in her own feces, waiting for her meals. During this pandemic it has been heart wrenching to receive countless phone calls of her crying, saying she was called names, and told her to act her age and not soil her pants. I am so disgusted by the actions of the staff that has been appointed to care for my sister. I have made numerous calls to management, only to be told there would be an investigation, then not even being called back on the matter. I am currently working to have my sister relocated. BEWARE when looking for placement for a loved one.

February 02, 2021

By Cinda Trim

I am/was a resident of this facility

The Van Duyn team takes great care of me. I always get my meds on time.

Provider Response

Cinda, thank you for sharing your experience at Van Duyn. We are so happy that you had a great stay, and were satisfied with the care you were provided. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing.

January 12, 2021

By Abe_

I am/was a resident of this facility

I'm doing just fine here! I really like all my aides and nurses. I am well cared for.

Provider Response

Abe, thank you for sharing your experience at Van Duyn Center. Your feedback is very important to us. We are so happy to read that you are satisfied with the care that you are receiving. We appreciate your kind words about our nurses and aides. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn Center.

January 11, 2021

By sarahsavastano

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

We obviously can't access the facility right now because of the pandemic which makes everything worse. Van Duyn is woefully neglecting my father. They do not answer the call buttons at all and there is nobody there at night. There are no activities or amenities. You're lucky to receive a meal or help when needed. We have had to harass them for my father to receive care. The social/ case workers and the employee John care more about my father's care then the medical professionals do. My father said he left to sit in his own poop all night and then the nurse finally showed up in the morning she reeked of smoke. Not good for vulnerable patients. He is lucky to see a nurse once a day which is a problem when you just had your leg amputated and literally can't move without assistance. We are getting him out as soon as we can. We just hope it's before any worse damage is done. My father said he was told that many of the nurses are out with COVID another HUGE red flag and that is why they are such short staffed. Yikes.

July 28, 2020

By Barb W

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My sisters and I have so much appreciation for the staff's dedication. They help us FaceTime all 4 of us weekly to see our Mom.

Provider Response

Barb, thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you have been able to communicate with your mom during this unprecedented time. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn Center.

March 20, 2020

By Resident231

I am/was a resident of this facility

Staff made my stay more comfortable. Nursing was really good.

Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable at our facility. We are glad that you also enjoyed your nursing care. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn Center.

March 16, 2020

By An0nm0us5555

I am/was a resident of this facility

Excellent nursing care! Therapy department was very good as well. I would recommend Van Duyn to others!

Provider Response

Thank you for the recommendation! WE are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed our nursing care and therapy program. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn Center.

February 17, 2020

By Brobinson108

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

I dont really know where to begin with my grandmothers stay at this "facility"... In my opinion it was the worst place I have ever been to in my life. When I drove up for the first time, I said to myself " am I in the right place? this looks like something out of a horror movie" and then as I walked inside and up to her floor, things got even scarier. The lobby is nice, which is all the internet shows you pictures of. They dont show the awful run down rooms, that havent been updated since they opened I'm sure. They dont show the holes in the walls, the dirt and scum all over the floors. The stains of who knows what, it appeared to be feces on the curtains and walls. Nobody talks about the awful smell, or the bathroom that smells like cat urine. Or the fact that there is no shower or facility for people to bathe/ or be bathed. The staff is nice, sure but you get the same treatment at the drive through of Mcdonalds as you do from the "nurses" or "Aids" at Van Duyn. I feel that they hired anyone who applied, no matter if they had any medical background or not. She got there at 1:00 pm and by 3:00pm we were asking to get her out of there. We were told we had to wait for her to be evaluated by Physical Therapy, Respiratory Therapy and Occupational Therapy before she could leave...and that they dont work on weekends so we would have to wait until Monday. Never once saw Respirtatiory Therapy, and they dragged it out for 5 days before she could leave for no reason! If she didn't need Oxygen and nurses to come to her house we would have left by 3:00 the first day we got there. The place is just awful. She was held there for 5 nights and not once did she a doctor. They forgot her dinner 2 nights in a row, and breakfast another day ( not that you would want to eat the food there anyway!) When she did recieve meals, they didnt even have her last name correct on the slip of what the food is! Forgetting to feed her wasnt their only specialty. She was sent from St Joes with a detailed list of her medication, and they didnt give her 3 of her medications for the 5 days she was held there!! 2 of them were very important for her Heart!! My mom stayed there with her the entire time because she didnt feel comfortable leaving her there, I wouldnt even leave my goldfish in that facility alone. I feel terrible for the people who are in there that dont have anyone to stay with them and make sure they are taken care of. Quite frankly I'm not sure how this place has not been shut down yet... But whatever you do, DO NOT SEND ANYONE YOU KNOW HERE!!!

May 02, 2019

By Regina Martin

I am/was a resident of this facility

I was very hesitant when I was told I had to come here for rehab, so to have experienced it myself I must say it was such a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend Van Duyn!

Provider Response

Regina, we really appreciate the response. Thank you for choosing Van Duyn!

February 25, 2019

By Marian Williams

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Therapy was good and accommodating; they quickly identified my mother's needs and helped her.

Provider Response

Thank you Marian for your review. We deeply appreciate the wonderful feedback here at Van Duyn.

November 02, 2018

By grogan

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

The area and view is beautiful. There is always someone to assist you and knowledgeable. The rooms are spacious. The staff is courteous. They had a haunted house that was cute. They have live music, etc.

Provider Response

Thank you Grogan for your review. Here at Van Duyn nothing makes us happier than knowing you are enjoying your experience.

August 31, 2018

By Louise F

I am/was a resident of this facility

I would highly recommend Van Duyn. The nurses are tops all around! My therapy was good.

July 12, 2018

By Linda SC

I am/was a resident of this facility

I would recommend Van Duyn, I really enjoyed the recreation here and rehab. It was encouraging to watch other people get better. The rehab department is outstanding!

Provider Response

Linda, thanks very much for your kind review!

July 02, 2018

By Donald S

I am/was a resident of this facility

You got a fantastic team here! I would absolutely recommend Van Duyn without a doubt! My therapy team motivated me and it paid off! The Concierge was excellent and Nursing was awesome!

Provider Response

Donald, Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Duyn Nursing and Rehabilitation, we deeply appreciate it. God bless!

June 06, 2018

By Daisy L

I visited this facility

Everyone is friendly, the food is good, housekeeping did good cleaning.

Provider Response

Daisy, Thanks so much for your kind review!

May 18, 2018

By James99

I am/was a resident of this facility

The food was sometimes good, sometimes bad. There are a lot of really good nursing staff! My stay all around was really good, I would come back and visit

April 25, 2018

By RayRO

I am/was a resident of this facility

The nurses, doctor, social worker, were all very good. Therapy is A+! The staff are very dedicated. Areas to improve on, would be the dryness of the food and timeliness of the laundry. When I first came in I couldn't stand up, now I'm walking all over!

Provider Response

Thanks for your candid feedback Ray. We will take it to heart and will continue to look for ways to improve.

March 27, 2018

By Barabara S

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

I wasn't crazy about certain things at Van Duyn Center, including their food and the chaotic construction underway. They've recently experienced some negative PR in the local media as well. In fairness, however, my experience overall was largely positive. My loved one was treated with respect and care and the rehab was more than adequate. We didn't want him there too long regardless, because "their is no place like home" Job well done by Van Duyn

Provider Response

Thank You Barbara for your kind words, we truly appreciate it!

March 02, 2018

By NancyHA

I am/was a resident of this facility

I passed my therapy with flying colors. The food is so-so, but the aides that took care of me were good. My social worker was pretty good too.

February 26, 2018

By Pat La.

I am/was a resident of this facility

The food was excellent, especially after talking with the dietitian. I found the med nurses were good as well as some of the nurses aides. Therapy was very good; I had Patty and Elin and they were excellent.

February 23, 2018

By Ernie M.

I am/was a resident of this facility

MY attitude about being here changed. I was upset at first that I couldn't go back to the other facility, but the nurses here are good and the therapy is outstanding. The food isn't the worst. My room and other spaces were very clean and I enjoyed the recreation activities.

January 24, 2018

By J. Spencer

I am/was a resident of this facility

I was a patient at Van Duyn in January 2018 after a recent surgery. I was in their subacute unit on the 7th floor. Nursing was very good. The food was reasonable, although they should mix it up a bit more (fish and chips, etc). Therapy was very good. The recreation was ok and I did attend bingo on a regular basis. Overall this experience really helped me out and i rebuilt my strength

November 27, 2017

By Josie303

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

If I could give this place a minus 5 I would. It needs to be shut down. My husband was here for a relatively short time before he was admitted to the hospital for a terrible MRSA infection, cellulitis and a fungal infection of his skin that the doctors at the hospital straight up told me was the result of neglect and poor care. I had to threaten them to get them to send him to the hospital. I do not think he had a shower the entire time he was there. When I learned that his EYE infection was MRSA I immediately notified the supervisor on duty for his floor because it's a very serious, extremely contagious and potentially life threatening condition. Her answer to me was "So what? They's (sic) lots of people here has MRSA. Why you tellin' me?" I think that sums it their attitudes toward their patients. In addition his meals were cold, he was left to sit in a soaking diaper until his skin turned purple and excoriated and his teeth were NEVER brushed, and showers or bathing never happen there. There's so much more to this, but if you have a choice, stay as far away from Van Duyne as you can. I wouldn't wish this place on ANYONE.

August 08, 2017

By Telling it like it is.

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Worst facility. Staff is rude, inattentive, and dismissive of patient needs. Food is the cheapest and lowest quality and does not meet diabetic needs as requested. Medical staff even mixed 2 types of insulin in the same syringe to "save time" Unacceptable - especially with the type of insulin being administered, that should never happen. Instructions on box even states this. Excessive wait times for assistance in getting to the bathroom. Many times patient was left with no other option than to go in the bed and then sit in urine and feces for hours until staff would come. Patient was even told "Just go in the bed". Complaints go unanswered and not addressed. Mice dropping in the room, flies under the dome of food when delivered, ......... Management is compliant in accepting this environment This place is inhumane - it should be shut down.

May 27, 2017

By mommamc1995

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Horrible place. My grandmother fell on a Monday and would not send her to the hospital until we argued until today, Saturday. For 5 days she layer in her bed with a shattered pelvis and fractured fibula. She is scheduled for surgery tomorrow. Family was never notified of fall.

May 15, 2017

By madashell17

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My neighbor and friend passed away on March 14, 2017. He had been home for just a week after spending almost 3 months in Van Duyn. They refused to let the family transfer him to a much better Nursing Home 5 minutes from his home. When he was finally allowed to come home, Hospice was called in to help with his care in his last week. I visited him at Van Duyn. The facility is dirty, and the staff obviously did not want to be there. They were verbally abusive with the patients, and once he was moved to the 3rd floor, he got no individual care as far as we could tell. He laid in his own urine and soiled depends for 3 hours one day. He told me himself, before the cancer started causing memory lapses. He never got treatment for the cancer, even though his wife kept asking the oncologist about it. They finally did a scan that showed he was full of cancer. That's when Van Duyn decided they got as much of his Medicare they could squeeze out of him, and sent him home for the last week of his life. He passed at age 73, far too young by today's standards. Could his life had been saved had he not been in Van Duyn? Probably not. Could it have been prolonged, and even made more comfortable for him and his family? ABSOLUTELY! But, the 'system' failed him. How many more of our seniors suffer far too much pain and indignity than they should, thanks to Van Duyn and facilities like them? I think the factual number would disgust us. The lack of human dignity, squalor, and disrespect exhibited by Van Duyn would not be tolerated if he had been a beloved pet! Our society needs to take a long look in the mirror at how we leave our elderly in these places, and why they are allowed to stay open!

March 02, 2017

By daynas

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

STAY AWAY!!!! Loved ones will NOT be taken care of. They are ignored and left to lay in their own waste for hours. Employees are terrible!

October 20, 2016

By Palmfam

I visited this facility

The care was almost nonexistent. A patient that is unable to get around easily will struggle to do things themselves. They are staffed mostly by CNA's that are not experienced enough to handle what you NEED to be able to handle. No doubt they need to increase their patient to nurse ratio. Not enough staff to help when needed. My family and I went up twice a day to take care of her ourselves. If we didn't, she would be left to sit out in the living area with her head down and no shower or food. Completely unacceptable.

July 13, 2016

By Patricia584856

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Van Duyn smells like urine, and you can’t get a nurse or a nurse’s aide to help you to go to the bathroom. You either take yourself, or you wait. There’s not enough care.

May 23, 2016

By nohelpatall

I am a friend or relative of resident

We've had a loved one at VD for quite a while now, and have seen many changes since the CE sold it to a group recommended by Cuomo: Upstate Services Inc. It's gone from being tolerable to disastrous. One of the most important things relatives expect from a nursing facility is that is SAFE; it's become more UNSAFE with each passing day. Though the Administration blames every complaint on the staff - it's not the fault of the staff as much as the Administration, which does put profit over people. There are simply not enough CNAs (aides) to take care of the residents; often there's about 2 to take care of more than 30 patients. LPNs pass meds; they're often doubled and have to pass meds to 60 patients. Visitors on the new "Dementia Floor" (3) note that many of the Dementia patients wandering the halls - are violent. Visitors often see them hitting, punching, scratching, screaming at, pulling hair, of both other patients and staff members. The number of black eyes and bruises is very concerning. And they not only hit others, but constantly go into others' rooms, destroying their property and taking their belongings - which are often never seen again, eyeglasses are a fav. Meal times are especially difficult because the CNAs double as "waitresses", which means they are in the dining area, not on the floors, individually passing out utensils, napkins, meal tickets, etc. - which many "wanderer" patients immediately pick up and carry off. Mealtimes in the dining area are a favorite time for fights to break out. There's simply not enough staff to keep people SAFE, but Profit beats SAFETY here.

March 31, 2016

By Geotool

I visited this facility

My wife is in rehab on 7th floor, the staff is overworked, the response to call buttons is ridiculous, the communication between pt and case manager and nursing is non existence, they hold u hostage with excuse after excuse. Pt is overloaded with patients no pt on weekends. The place is way understaffed. Don't go there stay away!

February 29, 2016

By Bogo


I was a rehab patient at VanDyne in Nov of 2014. The food was inedible the staff was mediocre but the Pt and Ot staff was outstanding. As for my overall impression it was a giant game of clue. No one knew what the other one was doing

January 31, 2016

By Caring143

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My mother did a couple of stays at Van Duyn for some rehabilitation. They’re overloaded, the staff is overworked, and you can see it on their faces, but you can’t blame them because their job isn’t easy. When I had my mother in there and I went up to see her, it’s basically what I did expect from what I heard. But my mother wasn’t unhappy and she would tell me.

October 31, 2014

By Mardean

I am a friend or relative of a resident

We chose Van Duyn probably because my mother had been there for four years and my wife’s mother for seven years, and we were very familiar with the place. My wife had fallen at home and broke her pelvis and was at the hospital right next to where Van Duyn is. She went to Van Duyn for physical therapy and rehab. It was a good time for her to stay; we knew she would be there eventually because she was experiencing increasing dementia. I think it is basically been good and again we were quite familiar with the Van Duyn. We feel that basically, she has had good care there. There has been a transition taking place because Van Duyn had been a county home, and less than a year ago it was acquired. I feel that they do really quite well. I think a nursing home is somewhat limited by the amount of staff they can afford so I guess you don’t see perfection but nevertheless she has been well cared for. It has come to witnessing her limitation to enjoy being there. My wife and I are both clergy, and when she got there they started calling her pastor Carol. She has come to think Van Duyn as her new church. It has made her more content to be there, I would say and she felt she had a purpose in being there. I have never seen a nursing home quite like it. They have a central unit -- a gathering room with a beautiful view down the valley -- and I think they did a pretty god job of encouraging all those were able to come out to have their meals and if they have activities and where they are able to relate to each other. They basically had to take anyone who needed a home no matter how bad their condition was whereas the other homes need to take just a limited number of Medicaid patients. Van Duyn is a home that has had -- as I have observed -- more people in need of greater care.

April 13, 2012

By melbk312

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Van Duyn seems to be a good place for my aunt to be placed in for getting all the care she needs. The people were friendly and eager to assist in helping determining if the place was right for my aunt. The facilities there are nice because they have social activities that the elderly can do such as arts and crafts, games, and big screen tv's in rooms for them to socialize for their entertainment to keep them socially active if they are able to be. The staff there is always on hand and easy to get a hold of if help if needed. They have a full cafeteria with all kinds of food offerings everyday so that they dont have just one choice in their meals. They take really good care of my aunt there and i appreciate their hard work and service they put into their job. It seems like a really great place to have the elderly live in with the positive environment that surrounds it.

April 05, 2012

By lss

I am a friend or relative of a resident

my experience with the nursing home was my husband is a quad and lived there for two years the facilitie was clean most of the time and the food was great and ther was lots of options. the biggest problem that we had and many other people had a problem with the staffes addatude they made us fell like we where there so they could have a job not that they were there to help the people in need. my husband was rearly treated with dignaty for exsample he had to be cathed 6 times a day and if he had to pee and it was time to eat they said you have to wait mean while his bladder is about to explode. one time he was going out side to smoke a cigerette and the nurse grabed the controler of his electric chair and was spinning him in a circle in the middle of the lunch room saying your not going out to smoke over and over he was mordified and i was too. it was not g great place from are point of view staff wise but a lot nicer and cleaner then all of are other choices in the area.

September 10, 2011

By brl4790

I am a friend or relative of a resident

In my opinion, my uncle's care at Van Duyn is passable, however, there are areas where a little common sense could come into good use. My uncle was born with some slight mental retardation due to a lack of oxygen during birth. I say slight because in certain instances, you would never be able to tell he had limitations. For example, he could probably tell you the complete schedule of any Centro bus, including drop-off locations and times, if you wanted to know. But there are other areas where his mental capacity is still clearly limited, especially in terms of making decisions for himself on what to eat (he is diabetic, and struggles to keep his blood sugar level low) and how to spend money. Unfortunately, the staff at this home insist on treating him as an adult, which physically, he clearly is, but mentally, there are deficiencies that the staff should be paying attention to.
See all Nursing Home reviews (48) See fewer reviews
Get Costs

Photos of Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

Get Costs

Services and Amenities of Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing


  • All Inclusive Rent

Room and housing options

  • Companion Suites: We Do Offer Companion Suites.

Dining options

  • Dining Room Shared Meals
  • Room Service For Meals


  • Beauty Barber Shop
  • Computer Room
  • Resident Transportation
  • Coffee Shop
  • Party Space
  • General Store
  • Tv Room
  • Garden And Patio

Cleaning services

  • Laundry For Linens
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry For Clothing

Technology and entertainment

  • Cable In Rooms
  • Internet Enabled Rooms
  • Wifi

Health services

  • Skilled Nursing
  • Hospice Care
  • Medication Management


  • Offsite Activities
  • Music
  • Games
  • Stories
  • Religious Services
  • Lectures Discussions
  • Book Clubs
  • Fitness Room
  • Yoga
  • Gardening

Financial guidance

  • Va Benefits Consultation
  • Financing Advice

Guest services

  • Guest Parking
  • Guests At Mealtime
  • Overnight Guests


  • Resident Capacity: 513
  • Staff Patient Ratio: 6:1
  • Pets: Small Pets Allowed.


  • Nurses Extra: We Have 24 Hour Nurses.
Get Costs

About Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

Van Duyn is a certified residential skilled nursing facility, providing short-term rehabilitation and long-term care to individuals with health conditions that require higher levels of medical and nursing services.

Under the supervision of Van Duyn’s medical director, a team of physicians cares for each resident. A doctor is assigned to each nursing unit to assure continuity of care. Consultant physicians in the areas of dermatology, podiatry, urology, ophthalmology, neurology, dentistry, surgical and ENT are available to this qualified medical staff. Outpatient lab and x-ray services are provided, as needed.

Registered professional nurses, assisted by well-trained and qualified licensed practical nurses and certified nursing assistants, provide 24-hour care. Nurse practitioners are also on-site each day to support the nursing and medical teams.

What Makes Us Special

Van Duyn's picturesque grounds, coupled with its outstanding views, make it the perfect setting to reside or recuperate while receiving superior care and services.

Get Costs

Map of Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

Get Costs

Get Costs

Van Duyn Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing

  • By clicking "Get Costs", you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Agreement to be Contacted by Telephone. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you about senior living solutions or Medicare insurance using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service.