Caring.com
Caring.com

(800) 558-0653

Reformed Church Home

1990 Route 18 North, Old Bridge, NJ 08857

(800) 558-0653 (Call a Family Advisor)

4.11

(17 reviews)

Offers Assisted Living and Nursing Homes

Photos of Reformed Church Home

Get Cost Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking Get Costs, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to  receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

Explore Nearby Verified Providers

Be sure to consider these verified communities in your search.

Get cost information
Find out availability
Ask about payment options

Reviews of Reformed Church Home in Old Bridge, New Jersey

4.11

(17 reviews)

  • Facility

    4.2

  • Staff

    3.5

  • Food

    3.6

  • Activities

    3.2

  • Value

    3.2

PeggyT

5

July 6, 2022

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My husband was very handicapped. He could not walk, talk or do anything for himself. He has been ill for a long time and I could no longer care for him at home. Reformed Church Home was wonderful. The facility is extremely clean. His room had a beautiful window with a wonderful view. My husband was always clean and cared for no matter what time of day or night I arrived. The food was presented beautifully and he ate with enthusiasm. The staff is incredible!!! He was so well cared for. Often, I was there an entire day and evening but whatever time I arrived, things were done well! Thank you all for making his final months more manageable for both of us.

Dena

5

June 11, 2020

I visited this facility

Reformed Church Home is all good. My first impression when I visited was that it's a bright, clean, and welcoming place. The staff member who accommodated me was friendly and informative. I saw their dining area which was very clean and lovely. They also have an exercise room.

GHark

2

June 2, 2018

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Title: "Uncaring, Unkind" Over the past several years that my mother-in-law has been in long-term care at RCH, the care for her has become sorely lacking. It has gotten to the point that those “caregivers” do not seem to know how to be kind – whether it is to the residents or to their family members. I have not seen a single smile from some of them. When family members make a request that we think would be helpful to my mother-in-law, we are treated as if we have no right to make such a request. The main result appears to be that they drag their feet even in doing the minimum. I cannot say how disappointed we are with the lack of real “care” at this point! Their top priority seems to be: Do not change the routine. Having said all of that, there are those who are helpful and who show kindness, even if they are not the ones most involved with my mother-in-law. It is for the sakes of those kind people that I give the rating of 2, rather than 1. Overall, I would NOT recommend long-term care at RCH at this time – until some of the “attitudes” are removed.

Provider Response

We are so sorry that you have had this experience and wish to know more specifics about the changes you have seen over time. Would you be so kind as to reach out and make an appointment to meet with our administrator to discuss your concerns so that we can address them immediately? Please call us. We apologize for any shortcomings you have perceived and will do our best to rectify the situation if you would please give us the chance to do so. Thank you.

a loving granddaughter

1

April 13, 2018

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

The rehab was horrible. My 87 year old grandmother had to wait to use the bathroom for over 45 minutes. I know this to be true because I push the button I then looked to see if the light was lit I then clocked the time and I even went out to check the board and no one came. After 45 minutes she told me there's no way she was going to hold it anymore so I took her myself. In the rehab they have these large glass rooms where they take the residents and dump them there all day long except for therapy. When it comes to Meal Time your loved one or yourself will not even get a glass of water if they are over the age of 70. I watched a woman repeatedly use nice manners and a calm voice asking for a glass of water. People repeatedly walked by her and gave her nothing. After about 15 minutes I couldn't take it anymore. I got up and I got her a glass of water myself I then went around the room and asked if anyone else would like a glass of water and surprise surprise no one in the room had a glass of water to drink with their meal. Younger people who need rehab may have better luck at this place, if you are a senior citizen I warned you to stay away. If you have any questions please PM me. I do not want to see your loved one go through what mine did. I even had to have a meeting because I will call Obusmun on them. When they heard this all of a sudden they decided that my grandmother could not do anything on her own and that she needed a super large amount of care that they knew we could not afford when just the day prior she was doing better. Maybe if someone explain to me why someone comes into a rehab at one stage and then leaves a rehab doing far worse than when they went in. Please do not do this to your loved ones. The questionnaire below asks about activities. The activities they provided were similar activities to the ones that I give my two year old and 4 year old. People who are Citizens senior citizens need to be respected as they are and not be treated as children. We had one nurse that was nice but the rest of the facility really could have cared less. Some of the rooms in the rehabilitation center are private some of them are shared.

Provider Response

We are so sorry for the impressions you have taken away from your grandmother’s stay at RCH 6 months ago. At that time, we recognized your concerns and appreciated the feedback you provided to our Executive Director, who personally followed up and took action on all of your valid complaints. Our records show that your grandmother reached her potential in rehab and was discharged to an assisted living, as per your goal at admission. Regarding activities, our program is purposely diverse, geared for all different levels of the populations we serve, as our Facebook page demonstrates. We would like to understand more about your current point of view and ask that you reach out to us so we can discuss further. Thank you.

Giacomo Turano

5

January 8, 2018

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My husband was transferred from Robert Wood Johnson on 8/19 and released on 12/3. I was so impressed by the service, care, therapy from everyone from nurses to pa to aides and therapist. The facility is one of the best I have ever seen. It's clean, the rooms are beautiful and the activities are incredible. The volunteers are the best. Caring, loving and always remembering the patients names. Even though I brought food from home, my husband was happy with what was prepared . In the beginning he was not eating much, so I can attest to the quality since I would eat his leftovers. During his stay he had to go back to the hospital three times due to complications. On his return we both felt as if we had come home. The speech therapist had so much patience with him and the physical therapists who he saw twice a day were great. The nurses were all great, in particular I must praise Dawn (on third floor) She treated us as if we were family. Before being released, Michelle in social services helped with all the necessary equipment from hospital bed, wheel chair and transportation to come home. I know from experience with my mother there is no easy way to deal with family in nursing home, but this one ca make your life easier to deal with, by showing caring attention. The aides, in particular Alicia, Rosette, Nikki , Vicki who treated me like their mother and my husband like their father. Reassuring us from the first day that things would get better and thank God they did. I am grateful my husband is home and the months he spent in there helped me to learn how to cope with him and appreciate what we now have. Thank you to everyone at Reformed Church and if I have neglected to mention anyone, please know you're not forgotten and you are in my prayers for what you have done for us to survive this difficult period in our life. Rosa and Giacomo Turano

WarrenK

3

December 23, 2017

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Upon admittance, no one went over the medications which one would normally expect for an intake. My wife started to have seizures. Come to find out they had her on a lower dose of medication. There were a couple of other issues with meds while there, so be sure someone keeps tabs on the meds given and how they are given. The food was basically good, however there were exceptions at times. Often the food was cold by the time the patient got it. Prior to going there we took a tour. We asked if they could handle Gluten free and the response was a positive. While there, it became obvious that they could not deal with a gluten free patient; you either ate what came on the menu or you basically went without. It is important it seems to watch what they do very carefully. The house doctor thought the patient needed to wear stockings for swelling of the legs. Never mind the stockings would go over a surgical leg/knee area causing extreme pain. The surgeon was not consulted to find out if this would be a issue. Also the PT folks put weights on a let that was none weight bearing. This surgeon was for a knee replacement revision. Bones in the area were very fragile with plates and screws. The surgeon was not consulted. What they did caused the bone below the knee to fracture making recovery process much longer and extended. So it is important to oversee and question things to make sure proper treatment is being given. The place also seemed to be in a rush to get the patient discharged. As with any such facility, it is a good idea to make frequent visits and not in the same time frame each day.

Provider Response

We are very concerned with the issues you have identified during your wife’s rehabilitation at Reformed Church Home. It would be most helpful if you could reach out to us so we can address these concerns directly. We will continue to research these issues and put appropriate measures in place for the future, but need some additional information from you to proceed. Please contact our administrator as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback – both positive and negative comments always help us improve the quality of care for our residents and we assure you they will be addressed.

Jeff G.

2

December 8, 2016

I visited this facility

Reformed Church Home to me was a little more hospital-feel. You went in, and it was symmetrical; the right side was assisted, and left side was skilled nursing. It didn’t have that openness to it. They had a front desk and then a little sitting area, but it seemed full of amenities. It was a 3-story building, so if you're in assisted living, each floor (1st, 2nd, and 3rd) had everything you need on it. It seemed a little more contained, a little more cut-off. If you were on the 2nd floor, you are really never leaving the 2nd floor. We were looking for my mother to be more sociable, get to meet people. The main drawback for me, my sisters, my brother, and my mother was the dining room. The dining room seemed like an office, so you have to open the door and go into this small room. It just was not good in my opinion; it didn’t do what we needed it to do. The staff was alright, but maybe she was having a bad day when I met her.

Provider Response

Dear Jeff, We are sorry that your initial impression of our community was not as favorable as we would hope, but we would like to thank you for your visit and review. We understand each family must seek out the right “culture” and environment. For some, an important aspect of our community is the continuum of care we offer. It can be both comforting and convenient to residents and families to know that their loved one can reside in Assisted Living, transition to Skilled Nursing if needed, and receive rehabilitative therapy all within the same place they call home. Likewise, we have received positive feedback on our smaller, cozier dining rooms located on each floor, where residents can conveniently eat and socialize with their neighbors just steps from their rooms. Before and after meals, our activities department encourages residents to participate in various events throughout the building, as we have many lovely common spaces. We recently posted a virtual tour of our building; if you navigate throughout the various areas it may leave you with a different impression. When it comes to the care of a loved one it is important to visit several places until you find one that is the best fit for your situation. We wish you the best of luck in finding that ideal solution, and thanks again for considering Reformed Church Home!

michaeld1060

5

February 10, 2016

I am a friend or relative of resident

Reformed Church Home provides my mother a wonderful, caring environment that gives her and our family such peace of mind! The staff is very professional, and always available to help in any way. I couldn't imagine Mom being anywhere else!

Reviewer7

4

December 30, 2015

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Aides are very caring and respectful of residents. Dining service: food not visually appealing, little color similar textures. Little effort on a continuous basis to accommodate diabetic diet.

A Caring Place for Mama

5

December 12, 2014

I am a friend or relative of resident

In the 1970s and 1980s I worked as a EMT for several private ambulance services and have been to every nursing and retirement home in Middlesex, Monmouth and Ocean Counties. When it came time to find Mama a caring, loving, safe and secure facility with a professional staff I chose Reformed Church Home. Hands down the best facility in the State of New Jersey! It is because of Reformed Church Home that my mother lived an additional 6 years glorious, fun filled years. I highly recommend this facility to anyone who wants piece of mind that their loved one will be cared for like there own.

Caring5976

5

October 31, 2014

I visited this facility

Our visit at Reformed Church Home was excellent. I don’t have to look any place as I decided to go there when I’m ready. They have several floors with a dining room on each floor. They have different room sizes. They have a studio -- and then it was called a temporary studio -- which is a little bit larger ,and then a two new suite and larger one. We didn’t see any activities as it was in the middle of the day, and whatever they were doing they were busy but I think they do have a lot of activities planned. I like that it was clean, I had a choice of my room size, and I would be able to make my own breakfast instead of going to the dining room which is what I do at home. I don’t have to get dressed so fast in the morning; in general it was comfortable, and it would suit my needs. I belong to the Reformed Church which is why I contacted them, and it is a comparably new facility. The assistance of the Reformed Church Home was for many years in several different locations in my lifetime. This is the newest one, and I think it’s about 12 years old, but it was very nice.

Caring78772750

5

May 20, 2014

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Reformed Church Home is a great place. I think Mom is well taken care of there. The staff are very kind. Whatever I ask or if I need information, they're quick to respond. Their attention to detail is great as well. It's an extremely clean place.

Giema1

5

March 26, 2014

I am a friend or relative of resident

My Mom was treated great in the Skilled Nursing area in the past. My Mother-in-law is now in their Assisted Living Area and loves it and the excellent care she receives.

Robert76962450

5

January 31, 2014

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My mom was admitted into Reformed Church Home. It's very clean and people working there are very conscientious to taking care of the people to the best of their ability. They have recreational activities, but my mother doesn't participate in it because she's confined to a wheelchair. She also has dementia. The dining room is very nice and very clean. Everybody is very kind in helping out my mom.

Ventus

4

August 21, 2012

I am a friend or relative of a resident

The facility was rather clean and well maintained. While there were some signs of age on the walls from wheelchair scrapes, overall you felt as if you were in a clean, hospitable environment. This facility also avoided the typical stale medical smell that seems to pervade these homes. The environment surrounding the home is at an acceptable level, though I would have liked to see more landscaping and forested area for residents to walk through to encourage them to be outdoors. The faculty of Reformed Church Home did an excellent job with name recognition and with adjustments in care for my particular family members. Dining options were frequently adjusted for them per their conditions beyond what was on menu, and never was a complaint or concern ever voiced to us about it. Additionally, they went the extra mile to ensure that our family was comfortable and welcome during our visits. Overall, both I and my family were pleased with the quality of care that our loved ones received at this home, and I would highly recommend it for anyone searching for a home for a loved one.

GEK

5

July 26, 2012

I am a friend or relative of a resident

A caring, loving environment for my Mom who suffers from alzheimers. Continues to receive top rated audits from NJ. A great place.

tripolgr

4

May 15, 2012

I visited this facility

My experience with the Reformed Church home has been consistently great for the past 10 years. Every time I, and my church, visit we are treated with respect. The staff at the facility accommodates our group graciously year after year, making sure the citizens are ready for our arrival. Aside from the staff the facility is nearly immaculate; it is consistently clean every year. The Reformed Church Home is a friendly place to visit and makes you feel at home. When we participate in mass, the priest is very energetic and always makes sure to emphasize our presence. The facility makes us feel at home and introduces us to all of the citizens one by one after mass. The Reformed Church Home is a great facility that I will attend for years to come.

What you can do with Caring

  • Search the Caring database

    Quickly search the largest online senior living and senior care directory

  • Read reviews and expert guidance

    Read our authentic consumer reviews and content by experts

  • Speak to a Family Advisor for free

    Guided, expert advice to find the best community or agency for you

  • Take a tour to decide yourself

    We’ll help you book tours or get in touch with local agencies

Services and Amenities of Reformed Church Home in Old Bridge, New Jersey

Costs

  • Entry Fee
  • Fee Structure Extra: 1 Month's rent

Health services

  • Nurse On Staff: Onsite 24/7

General

  • Resident Capacity: 54
  • Minimum Age: 62
  • Pets Allowed: No pets allowed

Medicare

  • Health

    4.0

  • Overall

    5.0

  • Quality

    5.0

  • Staff

    5.0

Medicare Provider Number: 315417
    Ownership Type: Non profit - Church related
    Rating Date: 9/1/2023

About Reformed Church Home in Old Bridge, New Jersey

Residents of our Assisted Living facilities in New Jersey receive care from a highly trained, compassionate staff that provides a wide range of personal and health-related services. Resident autonomy and choice are priorities. Staff members work closely with family and physicians to help coordinate care and remain informed about each resident’s status.

Throughout each day, residents can enjoy a wide variety of social, cultural and educational activities on-site at our New Jersey Assisted Living community. Should an individual’s healthcare needs increase, our Assisted Living residents are given priority in transferring to our Skilled Nursing section, allowing residents to remain in familiar surroundings. Couples with differing healthcare needs can also remain together in the same building.

A choice of six different apartment styles is available in our 48-apartment community. Residents supply their own furnishings to create a personalized and home-like environment. Kitchenettes include a microwave and refrigerator. Heat and air conditioning are individually controlled. Large windows provide a sunny atmosphere with generous views. All maintenance and repairs are included, along with satellite television service. Every apartment has a 24-hour emergency response system.

Family members receive peace of mind knowing that medication management by licensed nurses is available at no additional cost as is ongoing health monitoring. Three daily meals are provided in beautiful dining rooms on each floor; this unique design helps create a friendly neighborhood ambiance. Housekeeping and laundry services are provided plus transportation to healthcare appointments. Our Assisted Living facilities in New Jersey also offer a contemporary bistro and media room.

Map of Reformed Church Home

Help seniors by writing a review


If you have firsthand experience with a community or home care agency, share your review to help others searching for senior living and care.

Request Pricing Information

Who are you looking for?

Full Name

Phone

Email

By clicking "Get Costs", I am providing express written consent to receive calls including automated/pre-recorded calls and automated texts for which I may incur a cost, as well as emails from Caring and its partners. I understand I am not obligated to provide this consent to utilize Caring’s service(s). I acknowledge I was able to review the Agreement to be Contacted, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

mother and daughter online shopping

Compare costs, photos & reviews of senior living and care options near you.

 

Questions?

Call to speak to one of Caring’s Family Advisors, or submit a request for more information here.

(800) 558-0653

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Caring's Family Advisors can help answer your questions, schedule tours, and more.

Call us at (855) 948-3865

Helpful Articles

Senior Living Communities near Middlesex County, NJ

  • Richmond County
  • Monmouth County
  • Union County
  • Somerset County
  • Mercer County
  • Kings County

Senior Living Communities near Old Bridge, NJ

Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Caring.com

Caring.com is a leading online destination for caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses, and other loved ones. We offer thousands of original articles, helpful tools, advice from more than 50 leading experts, a community of caregivers, and a comprehensive directory of caregiving services.

 

The material on this site is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal, financial, professional, or medical advice or diagnosis or treatment. By using our website, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Our Services

  • Senior Living Directory

  • Senior Care Directory

  • Caregiving Resources

  • Sitemap

  • Terms of Use

  • Privacy Policy


© 2024 Caring, LLC. All rights reserved.