Farmington Hills Inn

Offers Assisted Living and Memory Care

38 Reviews
30350 W. Twelve Mile Road, Farmington Hills, MI 48334
Call (800) 385-2527
Farmington Hills Inn (800) 385-2527

Reviews of Farmington Hills Inn

38 Reviews Write a review
(2 Reviews)
(17 Reviews)
(15 Reviews)
(6 Reviews)
(6 Reviews)

Assisted Living Reviews for Farmington Hills Inn

June 24, 2021

By Rhodora

I visited this facility

The people at Farmington Hills Inn were accommodating. The apartment didn't have any living room, and it's quite small to live in for my aunt. They also had their own beddings, which is not suitable for me or for my aunt. There's a hospice patient there, and the doors were open. So if my uncle and aunt will come and see those, it might be depressing for my aunt. They had a hall where they do the activities, but they didn't really have too many of them because of COVID. They had a beauty salon and a barber shop.

June 24, 2021

By Jill

I visited this facility

I went to Farmington Hills Inn, and the person who toured me, Terry, was very informative. She showed me all the rooms and was very helpful on how we can get financial assistance for my mom. It's an older place. It did not smell, which was one of my first concerns, and was very clean. People seemed happy. It's at the top of our list. They have a very nice beauty salon, game room (which I liked), and social activities that they would offer to the residents. The staff seemed very caring too. We were thinking of getting a private room with a shared bath, and they offered that. They also said they would work with the residents if they didn't like something on the menu to make them happy. We could come in when COVID is over, eat with them, and just pay a very small fee, which was very nice.

November 07, 2020

By Raymond

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

We chose Farmington Hills Inn for my brother mainly because of the money and the care. It was the best that we saw for us. You can't get in the building because of the virus. I've only talked to him one time through the window. I haven't had contact with the staff except the day we moved him in and signed the papers. The admittance people were very helpful. From what we saw, it looked very clean and everybody we saw in the hallways were helpful when we were bringing in his stuff. If we have a problem, they only need a three-day notice, and then we can move him to our second choice facility. In terms of value for the money, it fits in his budget.

October 30, 2020

By Maria Fenech

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Moved mom into this facility on July 27, 2020 and moved her out 56 days later. My mom is a diabetic and requires insulin 4 times daily. This facility has CNA's administering insulin improperly which resulted in my mom's A1C's going from 7.1 to 11.2 in just 56 days. I brought this to their attention and was told the CNA's would be retrained. The bad diabetic care continued. She would get her insulin almost 45 minutes BEFORE a meal. There were days where her blood sugars would get over 400 before a meal was given. Also, her "diabetic" diet she was supposed to be on didn't exist. There is supposed to be a dietician/nutritionist on staff. I had a two hour meeting when we did the intake work and was very specific on mom needing a diabetic diet. I was assured that there was a dietician/nutritionist on staff but it turns out she was fed the same food that everyone else was given. A slice of pizza, blueberry pie and salad drowned in dressing is absolutely not acceptable for a diabetic!! She was constantly complaining of a headache which was due to her high blood sugars. She eventually had a TIA (Transient Ischemic Attack). Again, if I didn't notice all of these symptoms and had taken her to the hospital myself, she probably would have had a stroke in her room. After 4 days in the hospital and two weeks of rehab, not a single person from Farmington Hills Inn Assisted Living called myself or my mom to see how she was doing. After asking for a meeting with the administrator and certified registered nurse, I was told that if I didn't feel confident with their level of care I should move her out. I had no choice but to take their advice and move her out immediately. Adding insult to injury, this resulted in my mom being charged for 56 days of "respite care" totaling an additional $840 and is completely unacceptable. Mom didn't sign up for respite care she wanted to live here. Thank goodness I was my mother's personal advocate and was able to intervene and ensure her health and well being was a priority because Farmington Hills Inn was not capable of providing the proper care. I can't even imagine how many other diabetics living here are having the same problem but do not have a voice from their advocate. Steer clear of this assisted living facility if you have very sensitive health care needs. The CNA's here are understaffed and undertrained!!!

Provider Response

There has clearly been a disconnect between the services we offer and your expectations and we are very sorry for that. As an assisted living community we offer assistance for older adults who are mostly independent yet require assistance with activities of daily living. While we were confident in our ability to effectively care for your mother, those residents who demand more one on one care may be better suited for a community providing a higher level of skilled care. While it hurts that you do not recognize our many efforts to satisfy you and your mothers needs, and despite the constant criticism and beratement given from you towards our direct care staff, we feel horrible that you have had such a negative experience with us. We have successfully managed Resident’s diabetic needs since 1980 and take great pride in the abilities of our staff to do so. When it comes to medications, we are legally bound to strictly obey the Doctor’s orders. Unfortunately, if a family disagrees with the Doctor’s order, we must still follow the Doctor’s order. As was suggested to you, we encourage families to utilize our house Doctor, because many outside Doctors do not communicate as reliably and cause delays in medication changes and treatment. Please be aware that we are very transparent about our pricing and strive to provide the best possible care at an affordable price.

October 09, 2020

By Gail

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My mom moved into Farmington Hills Inn. It offered the most services for her at the best price. The staff was very helpful, very thorough, contacted us, called back, and helped us through the process. Her room is a little on the small side, but it has a nice, private patio. It seems to be what she needs at this stage in her life.

July 26, 2019

By Anne

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

I chose Farmington Hills Inn. It's very good, and I am very pleased. They provide food, medicine administration, they have a nurse practitioner, nurses five days a week, and the staff seems to be very attentive to the residents. The food is OK. The residents seem to be happy, and the place is very clean and quiet. I was able to attend a musical activity, but I visit quite often, about once a week. My sister appears to be pleased. She has a private room with a jack and jill bath. It's affordable for her.

July 03, 2019

By Arlene

I visited this facility

We went to Farmington Hills Inn, my sister and I both liked it a lot, and we thought it would be great for my mom. We had a tour, the person in charge was very affable, and the services they offered were what we were looking for. I liked the garden apartments they had available, I liked the fact that they had a nice dining area, and it was a positive experience overall. They had a beauty salon, access to a podiatrist, there's a nearby clinic, and it's near my sister's work and my home. The rooms we saw were very light, spacious, and very clean looking. Everything looked in order.

June 15, 2019

By Reviewer#JE0523219

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My mom is living in Farmington Hills Inn. They don’t have enough staff for the residents. The place is more like a nursing home or a hospital. The rooms are good with space enough for two people. The bathroom has to be shared. The dining room is large enough for the residents and the bring the food to the residents. The food isn't good though. They keep them really active with movies, bingo, and other games. My mom has dementia, so she's in their memory care.

November 18, 2018

By Margaret

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills Inn had a single room which would give her privacy. They allow pets. It was terrific and we liked everything about the room. They have areas for activities and they have an activity calendar. One negative was the carpets had lots of coffee stains and it didn't look good. The person who showed us around told us that it was a constant issue because people walk around and spill their drinks. They provide transportation and help people get to and from their rooms to the eating area.

March 19, 2018

By Mike

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills Inn was clean, and the staff seemed to be very good, but it was a depressing place. It was darker and not that bright, but there was nothing wrong with it. It was probably for people who are less active than my mom is. Part of that might also be my wife and I toured the memory care in the back, and it looked like they had 15 people just sitting in a room staring at walls with a couple of TVs on. There was no interaction or anything going on. In the non-memory care, it seemed like people spent most of their time in their rooms, so we didn't see much of anything going on as far as activities or socializing going on among residents. Everything was clean. It looked nice but boring. I know my mom would not be happy there. The staff appeared warm and friendly. The dining area looked like a cafeteria. It was clean and looked relatively modern.

June 19, 2017

By Granddaughter or resident

I visited this facility

I toured Farmington Hills Inn yet ending up moving to a place closer to home. Yet I was still very impressed. The community was clean and well maintained. The staff appeared friendly and were all assisting residents. I was there during lunch and the food looked and smelled really good. If I had lived closer I would have moved my grandmother in.

January 10, 2017

By Karla446625

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills was very nice, and the people were nice and friendly. The staff person showed me the dining area; it was a very nice setup. The staff will go and get them if they cannot come by themselves. It was close, they were nice there, and I liked the way that the rooms were set up.

December 28, 2016

By Lorraine Gilmore

I visited this facility

Anna would have gotten five stars, because she offered a great tour and information. They lost stars and I would never bring my parents there because: 1) it smelled like urine everywhere but the front lobby 2) I walked by many rooms where residents in the "assisted living" section were lying down or sitting alone not engaged in anything, while at least six staff members were socializing at a counter and two others were coloring together! Reminded me of the stereotypical nursing home that employs "workers" who are not there for the right reason.

October 21, 2016

By Diane826231

I visited this facility

I really liked Farmington Hills Inn. You can have a single or double room. The staff was very nice, and the place was clean.

October 14, 2016

By Cindy740125

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

We have selected Farmington Hills Inn. Food is quite a variety, so that’s good. Room is good. For the price, it is quite good, the size is good, and it is fairly clean. For the most part, the people are good too. However, communication isn’t the greatest.

September 30, 2016

By Tamiko

I visited this facility

I think we were going to Farmington Hills Inn until we saw the other community, but they were great also. The staff was great. They had my appointments ready, and they were able to answer any questions that I had. They walked me around. They had like game night and music playing. They also have artists come in and someone who plays guitar to come in and sing to the residents and get them involved in that activity. It is very clean. I like the layout of the rooms also. They had connecting or joint rooms for my mom and my father because we want them to stay together, so they showed us those. They also showed us an area where my father would be safe. For instance, he wanted to wander off and because he has Alzheimer's, and they had to put him in a different area that was a little more secure. I enjoy the fact that I know he would be safe and couldn't harm himself if he had to go to that portion of the facility. It was very clean, and I thought that the staff was very friendly.

September 02, 2016

By Gerald072632

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills Inn is very much an institutional-type organization. It's large, and I would question whether people could feel comfortable there. The rooms were reasonable and sufficient-sized. They had closet spaces. The dining area was fine.

May 10, 2016

By Irene33

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills Inn was great. Everything seemed fine and nice, and I would consider putting my mom there, but I found another place which was a little bit closer. The rooms seemed fined and adequate, not too big and not too small.

May 10, 2016

By Barbara124586650

I visited this facility

Farmington Hills Inn looked good and the room was clean. The day that we went, the leasing agent was not there, but the maintenance guy was there. He was not able to answer some of our questions because he did not know the occupancy, the cost, and all of that. It was a Saturday morning, so we did not see any activities going on. The dining area was clean. We were pleased with the place, but it was too big of a location for my dad. The only thing we were disappointed in was that the leasing agent was not there to answer our questions.

March 27, 2016

By Sherry122252450

I visited this facility

We visited Farmington Hills Inn Assisted Living. Supposedly, it is an assisted living with a memory care unit, but as soon as you walk in the door, it is just like walking into a nursing home. There were people being wheeled off on their chairs in the regular assisted living supposed area. The rooms were small with small twin beds. The staff was OK. I didn’t see any activities. There was an activity room, but there were just people in wheelchairs doing nothing. They present themselves as assisted living, and it is not. It was very institutionally set up with linoleum floors. It was not very homey at all.

Provider Response

We are sorry that you did not have a better experience during your visit to Farmington Hills Inn. While Farmington Hills Inn was built according to Nursing Home standards, we are fully licensed as an Assisted Living and Memory Care community in the State of Michigan. We have been undergoing renovations over the last several years with the goal of creating a less "institutional" setting. We can also assure you that none of our residents are dependent on their wheelchairs, bed bound, or a two person transfer like most Residents found in Nursing Homes. Some of our Residents simply enjoy the convenience of their wheelchairs to go to and from meals and activities. Additionally, Farmington Hills Inn has two full-time activity directors who dedicate themselves to provide fun and interactive activities each and every day for our Residents! Our monthly activity calendar can be found at our website,

February 23, 2016

By Jacque4

I visited this facility

I visited Farmington Hills Inn, and I did not like the place at all. I walked in the back part, not the front, because the back said, "Visitors only." I walked through the door and there wasn’t a front desk or anything like that, so really, anybody can walk through the door. To me, it felt more like a nursing home setting than assisted living because the rooms were small. I was looking more for apartment-style living, so I wouldn’t go back for myself nor would I take my mom there.

October 01, 2015

By sonofresident34

I am a friend or relative of resident

I have nothing but positive things to say about the Farmington Hills Inn. The staff has been wonderful! Everyone has been very helpful with what has been a difficult transition for my mother. The building is very clean and well maintained. The activity director Dee Dee does a great job of getting my mother involved. Also I have had a few meals with my mother and it has been delicious! My mother can be difficult but she even enjoys the food. For the price this facility can't be beat.

July 28, 2015

By Anonymous111193350

I visited this facility

I really liked Farmington Hills Inn Assisted Living. I thought it was a very attractive place. They had beautiful courtyards, and it is very clean. I went into the unit where they have dementia patients, and I was impressed by the staff interaction and how the patients were interacting and moving around. It was also very affordable.

May 26, 2015

By Bev12

I am a friend or relative of a resident

They seem to be very well at Farmington Hills Inn. They’re very caring and very good. They’re well aware of everyone there and make them feel at home. They learn the patients’ names, call them by name, and acknowledge them even walking down the hall. They all talk and ask how they’re doing. I went to several different places, and this one seemed to be a better fit for mom because she gets lost in a big, huge place, and it’s affordable to her budget. I can come and go anytime I want. I’ve been invited to sit and have lunch or dinner with her. I have on occasion, and the food has been very good. They have all kinds of games like Yahtzee, Sorry!, and Uno card games. They have a room where they can see movies. They have shelves of movies that they can watch. They have an activities room where they play bingo and different games. They have church services and gals that come in, and they exercise with music. A lot of them are in wheelchairs, but it’s very nice. People come in and sing or play guitars, and they play the old music. They have a director that’s on top of it. They also have a nurse on hand or they have doctors close. They have podiatrists come in. They have a hair salon; they do manicures and their hair. They’ve done a good job.

December 15, 2014

By caraway

I am a friend or relative of resident

They've done an excellent job at the Farmington Hills Inn so far. I'm very pleased with the service and I'd give them top marks across the board! The staff are extremely personable and family oriented. You can tell that everyone here takes pride in their job and in the service that they provide. They really care about making their community feel like home for the people who live there. I visited quite a few communities when I was looking into senior care and this was far and away my favorite that I saw!

October 24, 2014

By KitKatBar

I am a friend or relative of resident

My aunt lives here, and I know she enjoys the activities and the food. The facility is very clean and the staff is always very friendly helpful. My aunt always seems so happy and I'm glad to know that she's in a safe place that she loves.

Provider Response

Thank you for the kind comments. Our head chef and dietician work very hard to ensure that we provide healthy and delicious meals to our residents. We would love to have you visit for a meal any time!

September 26, 2014

By Grandson85

I am a friend or relative of resident

My grandma lived here for quite a while. She started in the assisted living side and then moved to the secured unit when her memory became really bad. The staff was always very helpful, there were plenty of activities, and the building was always clean. I would recommend this home for anyone who is looking.

Provider Response

Thank you! I am so happy to hear that you are satisfied.

May 29, 2014

By Caring83743650

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My mother has been at Farmington Hills Inn for about three years already. It’s not that super duper. It's right in the middle, I would say. She's in the memory care unit. The place is clean, but I think they’re just a little bit understaffed, and there’s not enough supervision. The staff that they do have there even is not supervised where they should be. There are good staff members there, but there are slackers also, and the slackers seem to get away with it. I think she’s in the late stages of dementia, so she doesn’t partake in too much anymore, but they have bingo, card games, and trivia games. They have entertainment come, so the level of activity, I think, is, on a scale of one to five, a four. I would say I’m not absolutely satisfied. The problem with these homes is they don’t pay the help very well, so it’s high turnover. They know they don’t get paid well, so they don’t really apply any pressure to get better. As far as I can see anyway, the place is more homey than institutionalized.

Provider Response

We appreciate your constructive feedback! Since May, we have made several changes to our Reflections Unit. There is now more supervision from our Director of Healthcare Services within the memory care area and direct involvement from other supervisors to ensure that the needs of our residents are met and the expectations of their loved ones are exceeded. We take pride in our activity program and always welcome suggestions for improvement! We have great participation levels building wide. Thank you again for your helpful comments, we are always working to improve.

May 06, 2013

By vas

I am a friend or relative of resident

This place is horrible. Very short staff and the administrators have no customer service skills. I have visited this place more then five times and have experienced a lack of proper service each time. The head nurse on staff is terrible at best. We learned our lesson the hard way and will be removing our love one.

Provider Response

We apologize that our customer service was not up to standard. Our staff, management included, undergoes regular training not only in resident care and safety, but also customer service skills. We would love to have you visit us again to let us know that we have continued to make improvements in customer satisfaction.

September 07, 2012

By Swatt

I visited this facility

I went to this facility to see how the facility is ran on an off shift. You can learn a lot by doing this! I was amazed and terrified at the same time. I walked around for 20 minutes and never found any staff, nurse or caregiver of any sort what so ever. All of the call lights were on!! There was no staff ANY WHERE, I don't think anyone works there at night. Not a very safe feeling, I would NOT put a loved one in this facility!! NO STARS...

Provider Response

We are sorry for your bad experience. However there are multiple caregivers, janitors, dietary, housekeeping, and office staff present in the building on weekdays and weekends. During every shift throughout the day, our staffing exceeds the state requirements for staffing levels.

See all Assisted Living reviews (34) See fewer reviews

Memory Care Reviews for Farmington Hills Inn

Get Costs

Costs for Farmington Hills Inn in Farmington Hills, Michigan

Cost of Assisted Living

Obfuscated cost

Starting Price

Click to unlock price

Cost of Memory Care

Obfuscated cost

Starting Price

Click to unlock price

Photos of Farmington Hills Inn

Get Costs

Services and Amenities of Farmington Hills Inn in Farmington Hills, Michigan


  • All Inclusive Rent
  • Rent Plus Care Fees
  • Assisted Living Starting At: $2340/month
  • Memory Care Starting At: $3550/month

Room and housing options

  • 1-bedroom apartments
  • Companion Suites: Yes
  • Studio Apartments
  • Housing Extra: Shared Living

Dining options

  • Dining Room Shared Meals


  • Beauty Barber Shop
  • Party Space
  • Tv Room
  • Garden And Patio
  • Resident Parking
  • Features Extra: Billiard Room

Cleaning services

  • Laundry For Linens
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry For Clothing

Technology and entertainment

  • Cable In Rooms
  • Wifi

Health services

  • Hospice Care
  • Medication Management
  • Physical Therapy
  • Psychiatric Care
  • Nurse On Staff: Yes
  • Pharma


  • Offsite Activities
  • Music
  • Games
  • Stories
  • Religious Services
  • Lectures Discussions
  • Wii Sports
  • Fitness Room
  • Gardening
  • Cooking
  • Arts And Crafts

Financial guidance

  • Va Benefits Consultation

Guest services

  • Guest Parking
  • Guests At Mealtime


  • English


  • Resident Capacity: 137
  • Respite Care
  • Minimum Age: 55
  • Pets: No Pets Allowed

Range of services

  • Physical Therapy


  • Licenses: Home For The Aged
  • State Licenses: AH630236784
Get Costs

About Farmington Hills Inn in Farmington Hills, Michigan

Farmington Hills Inn is a single-story assisted living and memory care community located on four acres of beautifully landscaped property in Farmington Hills Michigan. We strive to offer quality care while encouraging independence. Our affordable rates include three home cooked meals daily, housekeeping and laundry services, a diverse activity schedule, medication administration, bathing assistance, regular wellness checks, and more!

Our "Reflections Unit" is a separate secured and wander guarded area with specialized programs and care for individuals with moderate to advanced stages of memory loss. From uniquely tailored activities, to our specially designed layout, there are many reasons why "Reflections" is one of the premier memory care programs in Metro-Detroit!

We would love to have you as our guest for a tour of our community.

What Makes Us Special

Farmington Hills Inn is a family owned, state licensed assisted living and memory care community. We offer excellent care at an affordable price!

Get Costs

Map of Farmington Hills Inn

Get Costs

Get Costs

Farmington Hills Inn

  • By clicking "Get Costs", I am providing express written consent to receive calls including automated/pre-recorded calls and automated texts for which I may incur a cost, as well as emails from Caring and its partners. I understand I am not obligated to provide this consent to utilize Caring’s service(s). I acknowledge I was able to review the Agreement to be Contacted, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.