State Driving Laws in Virginia
Specific rules for older drivers
- Starting at 75, must renew every 5 years.
- In-person renewal and vision test required for those 80 and older.
Standard driver's license renewal
- License renewed: Every 8 years.
- Renewal conditions: In person only for those 80 and older. Vision test required for those 80 and older. Alternative methods can be used (for those younger than 80 with a clean record and no medical indicators) every other cycle. These include mail in, Internet, touch-tone telephone, and fax.
- Vision test: Yes, for those 80 and older.
- Written test: Only if driver is under 21 and is convicted of 1 or more moving violations.
- Road test: No.
For more information
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
Stay Connected With Caring.com
Get news & tips via e-mail