State Driving Laws in Hawaii

Hawaii

Specific rules for older drivers

  • Drivers 72 and older must renew their license in person every 2 years.

Standard driver's license renewal

  • License renewed: Every 2 years for those 72 and older, otherwise every 8 years.
  • Renewal conditions: In person, mail in or online (with a doctor's certification for vision and general health, regardless of age).
  • Vision test: Yes.
  • Written test: No.
  • Road test: If required; need is usually based on medical reports.

For more information

Driver License Section
PO Box 30340
Honolulu, Hawaii 96820-0340
808-532-7730
http://www.honolulu.gov/csd/dllicense.html

Other States


Stay Connected With Caring.com

Get news & tips via e-mail