State Driving Laws in Georgia
Specific rules for older drivers
- Starting at 59 years old, drivers must renew every five years.
- Those age 64 and older must pass a vision test.
Standard driver's license renewal:
- License renewed: Every five years for those aged 59 and older. Veterans' licenses are valid until age 65. Under age 59, license renewed every 5 or 10 years at the driver's choice.
- Renewal conditions: In person for those 64 and over. Those under age 64 may be eligible to renew by mail or Internet.
- Vision test: Yes.
- Written test: No.
- Road test: No.
For more information
Georgia Department of Driver Services
2206 East View Parkway
Conyers, GA 30013
Stay Connected With Caring.com
Get news & tips via e-mail