Seniors who are at least 65 years old, disabled or blind may qualify for home health care financial assistance in California. This support is provided by the In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) program, which is administered by the California Department of Social Services. Additionally, the Medi-Cal Home and Community-Based Alternatives (HCBA) Waiver may provide some funding for in-home health care services.

In-Home Supportive Services

The IHSS program provides services such as personal care, paramedical services and protective supervision for those with cognitive or mental impairment. Participation is overseen by a county social worker who provides authorization for each provided service. To qualify for IHSS, seniors must: 

  • Be a permanent U.S. resident
  • Reside in California
  • Be eligible for Medi-Cal coverage
  • Live at home
  • Submit a completed Health Care Certification form

Medi-Cal Home and Community-Based Alternatives Waiver

Services provided under the HCBA include home health aide care, homemaker services, non-medical transportation and case management, as well as various other services intended to promote the well-being and quality of life of its participants. 

To qualify for participation in this program, seniors must: 

  • Be eligible for Medi-Cal coverage or have an income that would qualify them for Medi-Cal if their spouse’s resources weren’t counted
  • Require a nursing facility level of care