Medicare Explained

Mother and daughter
All Rights Reserved

Medicare is the federally administered health insurance program for people sixty-five years of age and older, certain disabled people under sixty-five years of age, and people with end-stage renal disease. Medicare is divided into four parts, known simply as Part A, Part B, Part C and Part D. The benefits associated with Part A are free and automatic once an individual turns sixty-five. Part B is an add-on that requires a monthly premium. Below are the benefits associated with each plan.

Part A-Hospital Insurance

  • Inpatient hospital care
  • Skilled nursing care
  • Hospice care
  • Home health care (with certain restrictions)

Part B-Medical Insurance

  • Doctors
  • Services
  • Outpatient hospital care
  • Durable medical equipment such as wheelchairs and hospital beds
  • Additional medical services not covered by Part A

Part C-Medicare Advantage

      Medical savings accounts
  • Coordinated care plans—private health care plans provided by preferred HMOs, POSs, PPOs and PSOs

Part D-Prescription Drug Coverage

  • Individual plans are available through Medicare-contracted insurance companies

Eligibility and Qualifications

Medicare is provided when Social Security benefits begin, unless the individual is under sixty-five years of age and disabled or has end-stage renal disease, in which case it is provided at that time. Individuals who are entitled to Part A and enrolled in Part B are eligible to switch to Part C.

over 6 years, said...

If im a non active employee disabled in a union job that still pays for all my insurance I am under age 65.Do I still have to sign up for medicare I have part A I was told its free and I had to sign up for it.I called medicare and told them my work pays for my insurance its in are contract at work if you get hurt on the job.Medicare said I could do this just as long that I was in a group plan that pays for my insurance and I am in one.Social security said I had to get medicare that my insurance at work was no good because im not a active employee in that plan.If I was a active employee in that plan I would be working and not disabled.What is the right answer to my insurance problem.Who is right medicare or social security.