Laurelwood Senior Living

3797 Summit Glen Dr, Dayton, OH, 45449

Reviews of Laurelwood Senior Living


Write a Review

May 27, 2015

By Rod8

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My parents are in Laurelwood right now. The location and the cost were good. It was one of the better -- if not the best -- prices for what we got. The care seems to meet our expectation and what we needed for my father especially since he was the one that needed the most care. The camaraderie of the residents seemed very positive. The tour was excellent; she gave us a very thorough tour. We threw dozens of questions at her, and she had very good, strong responses. The facility itself was very nice. We liked the separate room where you can get together with family and have a nice meal if you wish.

May 22, 2015

By Scotland

I visited this facility

If your loved one needs assistance, this is not the place. It is dirty, smells, is run down. Management gives you a great sales pitch, but product doesn't match expectation.Go elsewhere.
Provider Response

Hi, I'm Katie, I work at Holiday Retirement's Home Office. I'm sorry to hear that you have such a negative impression of Laurelwood. You mentioned that Laurelwood didn't meet your expectation. Do you have any specific examples? If so, we'd be interested in hearing them. Feel free to call our Resident Relations line at 1-800-370-8331. Thank you,

December 18, 2014

By Caring87154750

I visited this facility

I think Laurelwood Senior Living would be a great place for my mother-in-law. The staff were very helpful. The room that she would've been in was very spacious and homey, and she could bring in furniture. I saw some who were doing some crafts. It was several levels, and that kind of worried me about her moving around as she would have to take an elevator down to another level where the cafeteria was, but it seemed like it was secure.

June 26, 2014

By Caring88932850

I visited this facility

The rep person at Laurelwood was very nice. She was very open and willing to work with me. She said she would invite my mom to activities. She would even come out and take some meals for her and get her warmed up to assisted living. They seemed to have a lot of activities. While I was there, they were going out on a nature ride, and I thought that was pretty good. The accommodations were of the average type.

June 11, 2014

By RICHARD G

I visited this facility

Laurelwood was the one that I had selected because they seemed to be able to make arrangements, cost-wise, on whatever with my aunt and uncle's income. The rest of them were too expensive. The community was very nice. In fact, they had an open house there that I went to, and they had food that was prepared by their chef and it was excellent. The apartments were very nice. There were two rooms, a bathroom, and a kitchen. The kitchen was off from one room. The other room was kind of more like living quarters than a bedroom, and the bathroom is in the bedroom. I like that they could split the cost between Medicaid and self-pay. One of them could be on Medicaid and one of them could be on self-pay.

February 26, 2014

By Caring73645550

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My mother has been living in Laurelwood. It was the only one that we could find that would give her a private room on Medicaid. The room is adequate and fine. We’re having problems with medicine missing and not dispensed for 5 to 6 days. We’ve had issues with them in toileting and personal care. My niece talked to the management but the last two emails were not answered. She was very unhappy with the way they were treating my mother and now they wanted to raise the rent. Most of the staff are very good and very caring. My niece is happy with them but it’s the management that's not good.

December 30, 2013

By Jerry23

I visited this facility

My mom moves to Lamplight Inn last week. It is a good size living facility. It has nice atmosphere, very friendly and very clean. They have two or three different vans and busses. They have activity center, beauty parlor, ice cream parlor. They have two meals a day with snacks. They pretty much have a full service. It is working well.

November 08, 2013

By wise owl

I visited this facility

We visited this facility several times in a two week period to show various family members the facility before considering putting our mother there. The 4th time we visited we were spoken to very rudely by upper management. We were told that we had been there enough and that the waiting list was too long (probably 18 months) before she would be considered for a listing. We left feeling humiliated, unwelcomed and quite certain we would not want our mother in a place where stresses and tempers might compromise the compassionate we were looking for. We got our mother into another facility much nicer and friendlier within a month. They did call us shortly after and said they might have an immediate opening. We would not have put our mother in Lamplight after our experience.

September 06, 2013

By Bowserw

I am a friend or relative of resident

I am going to have to say that our experience was not very good. The staff seemed to not be knowlageable able how to care for an elderly person. The medical assistants would miss represent themselvs as nurses however when there was a problem they could not answer your question. Our grandparent become very sick while she was there and before she had even passed away the management called and asked us to remove her personal items because they needed the room for someone else. If I had known that this was the kind of care and compassion that my grandmother and family would receive I would never have used this facility for my loved one.

June 29, 2013

By John Patrick Collons

I am/was a resident of this facility

It was not as spacious. It did not have as many activities and the dining was very limited. They only had a single menu for every meal.
See all reviews (15) See fewer reviews

Photos of Laurelwood Senior Living


Services & Amenities of Laurelwood Senior Living


Costs

  • Minimum Rate: $2050/month
  • Minimum Memory Cost: $3000/month
  • Fee Structure Extra: We Offer A Month To Month Rental

Dining options

  • Dining Room Shared Meals

Features

  • Beauty Barber Shop
  • Resident Transportation
  • Party Space
  • Tv Room
  • Garden And Patio
  • Resident Parking

Cleaning services

  • Laundry For Linens
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry For Clothing

Technology and entertainment

  • Cable In Rooms
  • Technology Extra: Emergency Call System

Activities

  • Offsite Activities
  • Religious Services
  • Lectures Discussions
  • Wii Sports
  • Fitness Room
  • Gardening
  • Arts And Crafts

Guest services

  • Guest Parking
  • Guests At Mealtime

General

  • Pets: All Pets Allowed

Licenses

  • Licenses: 2032R
  • State Licenses: 2032R

About Laurelwood Senior Living


At Laurelwood, our expert care and exceptional service make our community the perfect place to retire. With varying levels of care available, including memory care, you’ll find the perfect balance of independence and personal assistance you need.

Our staff is available 24/7 for around-the-clock care or in case of emergency. Our apartment suites are all equipped with emergency call systems. Plus, you’ll find three chef-prepared meals a day, daily activities and entertainment, scheduled transportation, housekeeping, and more are all included in your monthly lease.

Laurelwood is perfectly situated on the outskirts of Dayton, Ohio. Stop by today, and we’ll be happy to show you around!

Map of Laurelwood Senior Living


Get Costs

Get Costs

Laurelwood Senior Living

  • By submitting this form, you agree to Caring.com's Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, and Agreement to be Contacted by Telephone.