Different states have different requirements for returning hearing aids, but 31 states and Washington, D.C., mandate return periods for hearing aids, usually within 30 days, with at least partial refunds. However, these are state minimums, and individual providers may offer much more generous return policies.

Returning Hearing Aids

Hearing aids are classified as medical devices, and they can be a substantial investment for many. However, a large portion are returned simply because they are considered uncomfortable or those who wear them have unrealistic expectations of what they will achieve in terms of hearing correction. Many states have passed laws that deal with hearing aids in particular, making it easier for those who are unsatisfied with them to return them. However, the best hearing aid providers often have policies that exceed the state minimums.

States With Defined Policies

The following states all have minimum trial periods and minimum refunds. This makes it much easier to ensure that your hearing aid is suitable for your needs and performs as expected.

StateTrial Period MinimumRefund Minimum
Alaska30 days for audiologists, physicians; 60 days if notFull purchase price less 10% and cost of earmolds
California30 daysTotal paid
Colorado30 daysTotal less cost of materials and any return fee from the manufacturer
Connecticut30 daysTotal less up to 12%
Washington, D.C.30 daysTotal less 5% and cost of earmolds
Florida30 daysTotal less 5%
Idaho30 daysTotal paid
Illinois30 daysTotal less restocking/dispensing fee
Kentucky30 daysTotal less 10%
Louisiana30 daysTotal less 15%
Massachusetts30 daysTotal less 20%
Maryland30 daysTotal less 10% (although some expenses can be added on if higher)
Maine30 days (60 days with valid medical reason)Total less cost of earmolds and lab fees
Minnesota45 daysTotal less $250
Montana30 daysTotal less dispensing fees
New Hampshire30 daysTotal less unspecified fees
New Mexico45 daysTotal less amount specified in contract
Nevada30 daysTotal less $150/20%, whichever cost is lower
New York45 daysTotal less 5%
Ohio30 daysTotal less expenses as defined in sales contract
Oklahoma30 daysTotal less 10%/$150, whichever cost is less
Oregon30 daysTotal less 10%/$250, whichever cost is less
Pennsylvania30 daysTotal less 10%/$150, whichever cost is less, excluding services that are specified as nonrefundable
Rhode Island30 daysTotal
Tennessee30 daysTotal less reasonable expenses
Texas30 daysTotal less expenses
Utah30 daysTotal less 15% or cost of returning to the manufacturer
Virginia30 daysTotal less reasonable costs of evaluation
Vermont45 daysTotal less 5%/$50 and cost of earmolds
Washington State3/30 daysTotal (if within three days) or total less 15%/$150, whichever cost is less, if within 30 days
Wisconsin30 daysTotal less cost of earmolds and evaluation/fitting
West Virginia30 daysTotal less $125

States With No Refund Requirements

The following states have no refund requirements, although providers may offer refunds if they so choose:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Wyoming