Durham Regent

Offers Independent Living

36 Reviews
3007 Pickett Rd, Durham, NC 27705
Call (800) 385-2527
Durham Regent (800) 385-2527

Reviews of Durham Regent

36 Reviews Write a review
Food
(8 Reviews)
Staff
(12 Reviews)
Facility
(11 Reviews)
Activities
(6 Reviews)
Value
(7 Reviews)

Independent Living Reviews for Durham Regent

June 26, 2018

By Guest03

I visited this facility

The girl at Durham Regent was nice, but the food was cold. The service was rough and none of the staff members were friendly. The place itself looked like it could use some renovation. The rooms looked nice though, but I wouldn't recommend them. When you walk in the front door, there's a musty smell that just knocks you down. It just didn't look like it was kept up properly.

May 11, 2018

By Ronald

I visited this facility

Durham Regent looked more like a hospital. It wasn't bad, but it just wasn't my taste. The staff member was very personable and friendly.

April 08, 2018

By Joy

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was clean and had a nice appearance. The atmosphere was good. The people were friendly. Overall, it was a good impression. Parking was good but a little tight. The staff who gave me the tour was friendly and informative. Their studio room was small for my mom, but I like the fact that it had an area where you could go out. It looked out to the highway and the view was good. I also liked the setup of the one-bedroom. I liked that the kitchen was close to the living room, and that the bedroom was spacious too.

Provider Response

Hello Joy, thanks for visiting us at Durham Regent. We are glad to hear you and your mom enjoyed the community. We strive to help older independent people live better and would be honored to help your mom with this. Please let us know if you have any further questions!

September 29, 2017

By Happy Daughter

I visited this facility

The apartment at Durham Regent was tiny but nice enough and clean. The dining area looked friendly because the residents can sit with each other and go from table to table. They had nice garden areas, a really good library, and a game room. They showed us the menu, which had more variety compared to the ones we saw in other places.

Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Durham Regent!

April 25, 2017

By Marie172672

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was excellent, very pleasant, and professional. The apartments were very accommodating, appropriate in size, and definitely served its purpose. The place was clean and smelled very good. I didn’t notice any activities but they did have a schedule in the elevator and when you walk in the building. The grounds were excellent, well kept, and clean. I liked the landscaping.

April 12, 2017

By Charles185443

I visited this facility

Durham Regent's environment and surroundings were fair. I didn't like the rooms nor the bathroom, which opened into the living room instead of the bedroom. The staff was good, the dining hall looked good, and I didn't see the activities. The location was in my range, and the cost was reasonable comparable to the rest.

March 28, 2017

By Juanita380844

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was a nice, comfortable place. The people and staff were very nice, friendly, and kind. They served three meals and had a beauty salon. We looked at one-bedroom and two-bedroom units.

November 25, 2016

By Carol457587

I visited this facility

I visited Durham Regent. They have great staff. They have been really helpful and really interested in the residents and the families. They get along well with each other, so in that sense, you don't feel like somebody is trying to raise the rent on you. They're trustworthy. The apartments are bright and cheerful. They're small but bright and cheerful. The wait staff was really cordial. There's a lot of interaction. I would say it is a social place. It doesn't have a pool, but it does have small weight room. The staff stood out to me.

November 23, 2016

By Anonymous332826

I visited this facility

I visited Durham Regent. I thought the facilities were limited. The price was way too expensive for what was offered. However, the staff was pleasant and helpful. They answered my questions. I thought they needed better exercise facilities and more encouragement for residents to use them.

November 07, 2016

By Jacqueline622301

I visited this facility

The rooms at Durham Regent were adequate and large. The only problem that I have with that one is they had carpet on the floor. I was pleased with the service that I received, and it’s within the budget that I’m looking.

November 01, 2016

By Barbara453411

I visited this facility

Durham Regent had very friendly staff, good activities, and a variety of spaces. They had separate and different-sized apartments within the facility, and it was a larger facility. My only negative would be that it is 1980’s decorated and probably needed some updating. They had a chapel, speakers coming in, crafts, games, and movies; they had pretty much anything.

September 19, 2016

By Georgia228852

I am/was a resident of this facility

Durham Regent is an apartment type facility. They do have assisted living, dementia, and Alzheimer’s facilities. They have caregivers coming in with a few activities. I have a 2-door studio apartment; there is the door that comes in and the door that goes to the bathroom, but the bedroom doesn’t have a door. The food is very good. They gave you a choice of salads, fruits, and meats. They have silverware on the table. But there is one concern; the concern I have is the place is not very clean at all. They have bugs, and some people have ants. We have artificial plants and trees here; they should have washed it or thrown it away.

May 10, 2016

By Wayne23

I am a friend or relative of a resident

My mother in law went to Durham Regent. The location was appropriate, it seemed real clean, well-managed, and it was competitively priced. The rooms are fine, she has a bedroom, living room, and kitchen combination. The dining facility seemed very nice. They have ice cream socials, Bingo, and they have an entertainer come in occasionally. They have a library, some exercise equipment, they have a trivia game, and they take them shopping, once in a while. The staff seemed very dedicated, and there was nothing to complain about at all.

May 10, 2016

By Concerned Son6

I visited this facility

Durham Regent had cottages detached from the main facility. It was interesting, but on the end, my parents would have to go outside to go to the main facility to have their meals, so we ruled this community out. They do have rooms in the main facility, but they are more expensive. My parents want a two-bedroom. The rooms are nice, but they have a limited number of two-bedrooms. My wife and I had a chance to have lunch there when we checked out the place and the food was good. It cost more than others. The cottages were less costly because you only pay for two meals a day versus three meals a day, but there's the inconvenience of having to walk from your cottage to the main dining area. It is OK when it is a nice weather, but if it was rainy or snowy, it just doesn’t make sense.

May 10, 2016

By Wanda27

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was very nice. We saw a one-bedroom apartment, cottages, and common area, and all of that was very nice and seemed well maintained. We didn’t see any activities, but we were given a sheet of activities for the month that seemed quite extensive. They have movies, bingo, and exercise class. We saw the dining area in the tour, and it was very nice. It was like in the middle of the building on the third floor, so I thought that was unusual, but it was really nice. You can sit there and look around and see things like an atrium; I like the way it was placed in the building. Cindy was very friendly, very professional, and knew everybody by name. She was very accommodating to us, too. In fact, we did our interview right there in the one-bedroom apartment, so we were able to see it and see how it feels for our mom. Then she took us over to the cottages, and they were very nice. She was very engaging, very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

May 10, 2016

By LeoDSSUN

I visited this facility

We were very pleased with Durham Regent. The staff was knowledgeable and pleasant.

April 23, 2016

By James123866250

I visited this facility

Our visit with Durham Regent was good. We dealt with the marketing director who was helpful. My friend was looking at a one-bedroom unit. They had a room with exercise equipment, and it was all a good value for the cost.

October 28, 2015

By anonymous man1

I visited this facility

Durham Regent seemed fine, and I’m satisfied. The staff and rooms are fine and the food is adequate.

October 28, 2015

By Anonymous114760150

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was a little rundown and not as clean and neat as the other ones. The carpet seemed dirty and needs to be replaced. However, they had a wide range of activities there, and the staff was great and very helpful.

May 24, 2015

By Caring107481350

I am/was a resident of this facility

I lived at Durham Regent for 10 months; it was terrible. The food tasted OK, but it was not good for seniors. It was too salty. It was inappropriate at times. They had regular meetings for feedback, and no matter what you said, nothing ever changed. The room was fine, but the bathroom was not attached to the bedroom. There was no microwave or oven. It was a small apartment size. Also, the key to my door didn't fit the outside door, so when I went out on my patio, I couldn't get back in with my key. The maintenance girl was horrible. The activities were OK for awhile, but then the managers changed a lot, so the activities changed as well. The overall atmosphere was not great. People complained a lot, but nothing ever changed.

Provider Response

Hi, I'm Katie, I'm writing from Holiday Home Office. I'm so very sorry to hear you had a negative experience at Durham Regent. I've sent your feedback on to our Resident Relations department for their review, particularly as it involves food service, maintenance, and the lack of listening. If you have anything to add, you're welcome to call them as well at 1-800-370-8331. Thanks,

May 12, 2015

By Kim106662950

I visited this facility

I had a good experience during my visit at Durham Regent. Cindy was very friendly and took me on a tour of the facility. It was a good and thorough tour. It was clean, and the rooms were of good size. The dining room was set up for four persons per table with tablecloths. They had a viewing room with a large TV which was good because my dad likes sports as much as I do.

December 10, 2014

By Gina Marie

I visited this facility

The apartments at Durham Regent are excellent. It has three stories. The meals are all inclusive. There is a health care service that you can purchase. The food is excellent. The dining area is beautiful and large, and I think they have a little over 100 or 120 residents on that site. It has a recreation room, a library, an exercise room, an on site church, a beauty parlor, and a small store. They have activities. They are playing Wii bowling, watching movies, and reading.

February 27, 2014

By Caring68109350

I visited this facility

Durham Regent was very nice. The staff is excellent and extremely helpful. They showed me some rooms. They have bus transportation 3 or 4 times a week to take people to shopping, hairdressers, and doctor's appointments. Transportation is really not a problem. The dining room is very nice with multiple tables for all the guests. The facility was nice and had all kinds of nice stuff. They have their own activity program, too.

November 21, 2013

By Caring73387250

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Durham Regent is close to where we live. It’s close to all the places my dad needs to go for his follow up appointment. He has a simple apartment. He likes the age group because there are a lot of veterans here. Legacy helps care for the residents. Food is one of the drawback, they don’t serve his diet but he can walk around it. It’s not completely salt free but it’s not a bad diet either. They also serve a good variety of fresh foods to choose from. My dad likes the place.

September 24, 2013

By Rita14

I visited this facility

I took a tour at Durham Regent and I thought that the place is actually pretty nice. I was looking for my mom and I think this facility is nice. It was very convenient to where she wanted to be and where she is right now, so she wouldn't have to re-learn an area. I really like it.

July 11, 2013

By Betty27

I visited this facility

Durham Regent, the facility itself, was fine. I was just surprised that there were so many people in wheelchairs, walkers, and canes. They had some cottages where meals were not required, but I was surprised that meals were required and included. The staff was very friendly. As far as the cleanliness, the friendliness, and so forth, they're fine, but it's not what I need right now. I'm just not interested.

August 21, 2012

By purpleMom1

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Staff were always pleasant and prompt. The building and grounds are very, very nice. Beautiful, modern interiors, very well-maintained individual residences, and professional gardens. The food wasn't very good, but other amenities were excellent. Lots of activities and very active seniors who actually participate and interact with one another, making for a great community. Location was excellent also, as many attractions like zoos and museums are very nearby. One thing to remember about this place is that they only provide very limited care of the sick. People who live here must be reasonably healthy, and many people are motivated to hide their degenerative illnesses, lest they be asked to leave.

May 25, 2012

By granddaughter61

I am a friend or relative of a resident

The facility is clean, the rooms are nice, the staff is dedicated and seems to really listen to residents. They especially take care of residents during emergency situations, like power outages, severe cold, or outbreak of influenza. The food is good but not great, and that is the main complaint. There are a lot of activities for residents. It's a nice place to be.
See all Independent Living reviews (36) See fewer reviews
Get Costs

Costs for Durham Regent

Cost of Independent Living

Obfuscated cost

Starting Price

Click to unlock price

Photos of Durham Regent

Get Costs

Services and Amenities of Durham Regent

Costs

  • Fee Structure Extra: Included In Rent: Basic Cable, Electric, Gas, Sewer, Water
  • Independent Living Starting At: $2134/month

Room and housing options

  • 1-bedroom apartments
  • 2-bedroom apartments
  • Studio Apartments
  • Housing Extra: Cottages, Handicap Barrier Free Units Available, Individual Climate Control, Telephone Hookup, Walk In Tub

Dining options

  • In Room Kitchenette
  • In Room Kitchens
  • Dining Room Shared Meals
  • Dining Extra: Resident Kitchen

Features

  • Beauty Barber Shop
  • Computer Room
  • Resident Transportation
  • Hiking Trails
  • Tv Room
  • Garden And Patio
  • Resident Parking
  • Features Extra: Laundry Room For Use, Chapel, Library, Locked Mailboxes, Elevator, Parking: Covered

Cleaning services

  • Laundry For Linens
  • Housekeeping

Technology and entertainment

  • Cable In Rooms
  • Technology Extra: Business Center, Wi Fi In Common Areas

Activities

  • Offsite Activities
  • Fitness Room
  • Activities Extra: Game Room, Activity Room

Guest services

  • Guest Parking
  • Guests At Mealtime
  • Overnight Guests

General

  • Minimum Age: 55
  • Pets: Most Pets Allowed
Get Costs

About Durham Regent

Durham Regent is located in Durham, NC, providing a vibrant backdrop for your new life as a valued member of our caring community.

From pleasant housekeepers, to attentive servers at mealtime and helpful maintenance technicians who are there when you need them, this community is the new extension of your family. We take pleasure in getting to know each of our residents and look out for their comfort and happiness. Our chefs prepare three delicious meals each day, served in our beautiful dining room. We provide housekeeping, linen services, fun and stimulating activities, off-site excursions, transportation to your personal appointments and a variety of classes and programs. Our warm, comfortable community and our friendly staff and residents will welcome you. We look forward to making your life easier any way we can.

So come to Durham Regent for a visit...and stay!

*We understand that each individual is unique and that needs may change over time. Holiday Retirement does not provide any health care services. However, residents are welcome to receive services from any outside home health care provider of their choice to help them continue enjoying life at our community.

Get Costs

Map of Durham Regent


Get Costs

Get Costs

Durham Regent


  • By clicking "Get Costs", you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Agreement to be Contacted by Telephone. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you about senior living solutions or Medicare insurance using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service.