Sterling Place Southfield, MI

Offers Independent Living

34 Reviews
22800 Civic Center Dr, Southfield, MI 48033
Call (800) 385-2527
Sterling Place (800) 385-2527

Reviews of Sterling Place

34 Reviews Write a review
(7 Reviews)
(14 Reviews)
(15 Reviews)
(5 Reviews)
(5 Reviews)

Independent Living Reviews for Sterling Place

March 17, 2021

By Rodney

I visited this facility

I was pleased overall with my tour at Sterling Place. I liked most of the things included in their program, like the meals, electricity, and the laundry. That's huge for me. I was not as impressed with the spaces in the room, but that's the only thing that wasn't impressive. The staff was informative, very helpful, and overall pleasant. I saw the menu. It looks very diverse; it's perfect. I'm sure if I were there I would want to cook something of my own, but they have some pretty good options, seven days a week.

October 02, 2020

By Freddie

I visited this facility

I had an in-person tour at Sterling Place. I saw the apartment, and talked to the staff. It's a small apartment with minimal space. Transportation is covered.

October 10, 2019

By Ronald

I am/was a resident of this facility

I just moved into Sterling Place and we're getting used to it, but my experience so far has been good. Today we went on an outing with the group and we went to a cider mill, so it was a good experience. The staff is very friendly. I have a one-bedroom apartment. It's just me and my little dog, and there's just enough space. You can choose independent living, which I did, or you can choose assisted living if you need it. They offer three meals a day, and the food I've had so far has been good. I'd rate them a four because they replaced the carpeting in the room that I got, they put in new flooring, and they painted the walls. They did a good job with that. The only thing I can say is that the carpeting in the hallways needs to be replaced, but there's no smell or anything like in other places. The staff has been very good.

July 02, 2019

By Mary

I visited this facility

Sterling Place was great. The staff was fantastic, and they had a list of activities. However, it's geared towards senior living and you got to pay separately for any help that you might need. If mom was 10 years younger, I might have considered it.

August 30, 2018

By Charlestta

I visited this facility

Sterling Place wasn't very good at all. It was more like a nursing home. The grounds were OK, but the building smelled like urine, and it was dirty. There was no one there to greet me at the door, but the staff I met was OK.

Provider Response

Hi Charlestta, we appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Your feedback has been shared with the management team. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

April 30, 2018

By Candy

I visited this facility

Sterling Place was very affordable and the one I liked the best. The people were very nice, and the amenities were very home-like. It was an older place, but the rooms were still nice enough. The food was good, too.

November 27, 2017

By Edward

I am/was a resident of this facility

Sterling Place is ten acres and there's 175 people here. They provide three meals a day, seven days a week. I have a pretty nice apartment with a balcony, with electic, gas, and water included. It has a kitchen with all the appliances, centralized air-conditioning, and carpets. They cut the staff down way too fast, from ten to five people. The staff members keep quitting, so they keep hiring and training new ones. They have a computer room, a library, Wii room, a room for bowling, and a setup room for games. They play Bingo and do yoga. There's a therapy room, a big fireplace, a large TV, and a large dining room. They have a lot. The food is better than it used to be. I didn't like it before, but they got a new chef and he's pretty good.

February 28, 2017

By Tim713314

I visited this facility

I did not meet any of the staff at the Sterling Place other than the intake person. The area was clean, open, and renovated, and there was a well-attended activity in the common area. They were doing a horse race dice game, which was led by an employee. The dining area was large with many separate tables to have privacy and not eat in large groups, which is a big plus for me. The room had a good floor plan and offered a kitchen, which was a requirement of my mother-in-law who wants to cook all of her meals.

February 01, 2017

By John384775

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

My dad has been in Sterling Place for two months in a nice one-bedroom that's adequate for him. It’s a nice place. I like it. He's a little up in the air about the food. They have a decent staff. The people interact with each other, and for somebody that is somewhat active and still able to do things for himself, it's a good place for him to be.

January 10, 2017

By Karla504182

I visited this facility

Sterling Place was nice, but it was not right for my mother. The set up was nice -- which was more like an apartment where you get on an elevator -- and you can have a private room. Her room would have a kitchen which I didn’t too much care for even though they were going to unplug the stove because my mom has dementia. I would still recommend it for somebody else but not for a person who has dementia or Alzheimer’s. The staff person who showed me around was nice. It was nice and clean, it didn’t have a smell, and the people were nice and professional. Their dining area was very nice; it was like a banquet room.

November 19, 2016

By bugs8unny

I am a friend or relative of a current/past resident

Sterling Place's staff was very friendly, and the facility was very nice. The amenities that they had fit my dad's needs. They provide 3 meals a day, and the apartment comes with a small kitchenette. They have a pull cord in case of an emergency for a fee, and they have help for his medications. They have outings and a bus that provides transportation to and from doctor's appointments and grocery stores. The place is a smaller facility, and it’s only 3 floors.

August 15, 2015

By Caring112181250

I am a friend or relative of a resident

The first place my dad was at was Sterling Place. They changed ownerships; the food wasn't good, and the care team was not up-to-par. They weren't too competent. As far as the rooms, the room was decent; it was OK.

Provider Response

Hello, thank you for taking the time to rate and review our community. We appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. We will take this feedback and look for ways to better our community for residents and team members. Thank you

June 15, 2015

By Caring108364850

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Sterling Place is independent and assisted living. The rooms are very nice inside. You could of course bring your own furniture. My mom has a one-bedroom with a living room and a small kitchen for cooking if they wish to cook, although the dining room is really where they eat. They get three meals: breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The dining room is setup with real glasses, plates, and white table cloths. They have formal dining. They have an activities room where they play games or have many activities. There is also a living room and a fireplace where they have activities as well. When they have entertainment, sometimes it overflows into the living room. They have a lot of activities for them. They also have a rehabilitation department for physical therapy. They have a library and two laundry rooms. They have studios and one-bedrooms, and in some instances where they have couples, they have a two-bedroom. The one bedroom is very nice. We are trying to get used to the food. The food is probably what they should be because they are low in sodium and no fried food. The portions are not really large, but they are sufficient, although it is kind of bland. They don't use a lot of seasoning in the food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The assisted living is private and is not staff members of Sterling Place. They contracted in a health care or caregivers. So it is like a separate contract that you have to pay for if your loved one requires assisted living. I think it is entirely too expensive. That is one reason I was looking because it is going up for one-bedroom and three meals. Nobody gets up to eat breakfast, which has hardly anything anyway. Their breakfast is very minimal like an egg and a piece of toast or cereal. They do have a lot of men there because they give a consideration for veterans. They give some kind of discount if they are veterans. They have special things for men like pool table. Women can go there too, but it is mostly for men. The place itself has a beautiful setting. It sits back off the street with beautiful lawns and trees. They have outdoor type sitting either on the porch or they can go out back to a garden area. It is a little too pricey, and not everybody can afford it.

May 04, 2015

By Caring106116650

I visited this facility

Sterling Place is OK. All of the staff was nice except for one that I didn't really particularly care for because of what she said in public especially with people walking around thinking about moving someone in there. The young lady was talking about one of the clients saying she can’t talk to her that way and she doesn't care if she is old. I thought that was very tacky. The rooms were clean, and it was smaller than where my friend currently is in. The dining area is nice with a beautiful view of the park like area. As for security, there is always someone at the front desk. The tour guide was friendly. Me personally I don't know if I can recommend it to others because of the one staff member. I hate to say something about the whole place because of one staff member, but I wouldn't send anyone there because of the way she talked about one of their clients. You have to be patient with them.

Provider Response

Hi - I'm Katie, I work at Holiday Retirement Home Office. I'm so sorry to hear that you had a negative tour experience, especially because it seems like your negative experience was largely due to one Holiday associate. We agree that our residents need to be treated with respect, patience, and sincerity. Unfortunately we can't recreate your tour experience, but we can take action. Do you happen to remember the associate's name? Or a physical description? If so, feel free to call our Resident Relations department at 1-800-370-8331 so we can get more details and determine the best course of action. Thank you for your sincere review, Katie

April 27, 2015

By Dominick2

I visited this facility

Sterling Place is a nice community. It seems like the staff is really nice. She really liked the atmosphere when we brought her there to see it. It was in her price range.

April 18, 2015

By Caring104157650

I am a friend or relative of a resident

I had been in Heatherwood (now Sterling Place) before to visit some friends there, and they seem to enjoy it. I liked their staff. I liked their rooms too; they were spacious. It was nice, and I liked it. I saw a game room and a library, and they had a place where people could walk outside and enjoy the view out there too.

April 16, 2015

By Caring105115050

I am a friend or relative of a resident

I got my mom into Sterling Place, but unfortunately she passed away on March 20th. It was nice even when they were going through the transition and everything; it was just really nice. The food was OK. They had a daily exercise class, bingo nights, movie nights (3 choices a week), a nice little library with computer access if anybody wanted to go online, and trips to the casino. I would recommend it. For senior housing, this would be the place to be.

February 22, 2015

By Linda102563850

I visited this facility

I like the way that the people from The Heatherwood; they were people that my mother could communicate with and interact with. The rooms were nice. They were working with me with things that I wanted and needed.

December 16, 2014

By lovingdaughter24240

I visited this facility

I would not advise anyone to place a love one in Heatherwood. There always staff hanging out back smoking. Onebody seem like they want to work there. The halls smells at times very badly. Just if you have love one there pop in at odd times you see.....

Provider Response

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback on our community. We regret to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at our community. We hope to get a second chance to show you how wonderful our leadership is. Thank you

November 14, 2014

By Caring88613350

I visited this facility

We visited Heatherwood because a couple my friends' parents were there. Everything was very nice. The staff was very accommodating. I hadn't tasted the food, but I heard that it was good. I saw the apartments, and they were nice. They had activities. It seemed to be secured enough. I would most definitely recommend it to others.

May 29, 2014

By caring93283050

I visited this facility

I visited The Heatherwood, but I did not like it much. It seemed more like a nursing home setting to me, and they didn’t have very big, spacious apartments. It was smaller. It was nice, and everything was clean, but it just wasn’t spacious. The dining area downstairs and everything was big. The staff seemed to be nice.

September 10, 2013

By Happily employed

I visited this facility

I think it is a wonderful place. Staff seems to go above and beyond to ensure residents are safe and have what they need. It is an independent living community and residents are free to come and go as they please. Food and entertainment are GREAT. Management is very responsive.

July 31, 2013

By Deborah15

I visited this facility

The staff at the Heatherwood was excellent. Their rooms were nice. Some had a porch which was nice and something a little different from some of the other homes . It had a home like feel. They were in the process of updating. They had transportation and housekeeping. Their food was delicious. I would definitely recommend them to others.

October 05, 2012

By concernedson2

I am a friend or relative of a resident

Personally I did not have a very good experience with this particular facility. Almost all of the people working there seemed as if they did not enjoy being there. Many times workers seemed agitated, irritated, or annoyed to be dealing with residents that required any type of specialized assistance which was almost all of the residents. My father was living there after suffering a stroke and because of his stroke he would often times become confused. One night I received a phone call saying that I needed to come up and get my father urgently because he had tried to run away from the facility. When I got there the manager of the facility told me that he was no longer welcome to live at their facility and that he needed to find a new place to live immediately. I was outraged to say the least. I understand that they are worried about the possibility of him trying to leave again, but what I don't understand is how and assisted living home is not equipped to deal with these types of occurrences. I am convinced that this would not have happened if employees of the Heatherwood were more attentive and caring for residents. Although the food there wasn't bad, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Provider Response

Hello, thank you for your review. We regret to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at our community and are confident this does not represent our community as a whole. We understand that many personnel changes and restructuring have occurred since your experience at our community and we hope to get a second chance to show you how great our leadership is. Thank you

August 13, 2012

By caring7131

I visited this facility

I wouldn't take my dog there. It wasn't clean. Yes, I'm an elderly person, but I also like clean places. It had an odor to it. It smelled of urine and old people which was very disappointing because the location was wonderful. Their staff was almost like they didn't care. I don't know if it was a bad day or what it was, but it was not a good experience for me.

Provider Response

Hi there, we regret to hear that your experience with us was not a more positive one. There have been many changes within our community in recent years, and hope that you come back and visit us again. We would love the opportunity to show you how wonderful our community and staff are.

December 05, 2011

By Social Worker # 1

I visited this facility

I think The Heather wood Independent Living Retirement is an excellent choice for placement for someone who is looking for an independent Retirement community to fulfill their life style. They provide assistance within the comfort of each individual resident's apartment. The also offer supportive services that meet their residents individual centered plans of care. They provide the highest level of care to their residents that is provided by their skilled trained Nurses, Cena's that is on site 24/7. They provide a varied menu for their residents in their fine dining area formally setting for their residents to enjoy. While there, I noticed that their residents were having various social events. Some times they provide for their residents there a social event happy hour for their residents to socialize and interact with one another. They talk and mingle sociably within their senior community there. They all seem to know one another very well they even provide dancing events for their residents to enjoy and stay youthful as they possibly can. Their staff members are skilled, trained, very professional, team and task oriented in their job duties and performances. They offer their residents with an array of services and encourage them to remain independent as possible. I would rank this facility a five stars rating for their excellence and expertise.
See all Independent Living reviews (34) See fewer reviews
Get Costs

Questions about Sterling Place

Describe the overall population of independent living residents at Sterling Place. What is their average age? What are their favorite things to do?

The average age of Sterling Place independent living community residents is 88. Residents especially enjoy playing bingo, exercising, and watching just about any kind of sports game.

What places are nearby for independent living residents to enjoy?

Sterling Place senior living community is close to movie theatres, recreation centers, restaurants, grocery stores, the Southfield Civic Center, and Tel-Twelve Mall.

What are some recent off-site events that the community activity director at Sterling Place has organized?

Residents have recently enjoyed attending plays at the theater house in Birmingham, Mi and the casino in downtown Detroit.

What transportation services does Sterling Place offer to independent living residents?

We provide scheduled transportation via shuttle up to seven miles away as well as to planned community outings and events.

What makes the chef or dining program at Sterling Place exceptional? What kind of menu can independent living residents expect?

Our chef has been with Sterling Place for over six years and makes everything from scratch. Residents love the variety in the menus and the chef-hosted roundtables where they talk about recipe ideas and provide feedback on dishes.

What common areas are available for independent living residents?

Common areas at Sterling Place retirement community include the lobby area, activity rooms, private dining room, motown lounge, game room, and laundry facilities.

What safety features or security measures does Sterling Place offer to independent living residents?

After hours all doors are locked and residents must use a keycard to enter the front door. We have “shelter in place” and all residents are equipped with GreatCall emergency response devices.

If Sterling Place accepts dogs or cats, what indoor/outdoor areas can they enjoy?

Residents love walking their dogs on our walking path or sitting with them on the patios.

Does Sterling Place work with an agency or registry to provide nursing and medical assistance as needed?

Right at Home health care agency has offices in Sterling Place senior living community and we have relationships with a number of providers in the community as well.

Costs for Sterling Place

Cost of Independent Living

Obfuscated cost

Starting Price

Click to unlock price

Photos of Sterling Place

Get Costs

Services and Amenities of Sterling Place


  • Fee Structure Extra: Included In Rent: Electric, Gas, Sewer, Water
  • Independent Living Starting At: $1650/month

Room and housing options

  • 1-bedroom apartments
  • 2-bedroom apartments
  • Housing Extra: Handicap Barrier Free Units Available, Individual Climate Control, Safety Rails In Bathroom, Telephone Hookup, Walk In Tub

Dining options

  • In Room Kitchens
  • Dining Room Shared Meals
  • Dining Extra: Private Dining Room


  • Beauty Barber Shop
  • Computer Room
  • Resident Transportation
  • Tv Room
  • Garden And Patio
  • Resident Parking
  • Features Extra: Laundry Room For Use, Library, Locked Mailboxes, Elevator, Storage Space, Parking: Covered

Cleaning services

  • Laundry For Linens
  • Housekeeping

Technology and entertainment

  • Cable In Rooms
  • Technology Extra: Wi Fi In Common Areas


  • Activities Extra: Game Room, Activity Room

Financial guidance

  • Va Benefits Consultation

Guest services

  • Guest Parking
  • Guests At Mealtime


  • Minimum Age: 55
  • Pets: Most Pets Allowed
Get Costs

About Sterling Place

Sterling Place is a senior living community in Southfield, MI for seniors who still are able to live independently but would like to live in a community with other seniors. The community is run by national company Holiday Retirement, which runs more than 300 senior living communities nationwide. Located only a few minutes from the larger Detroit area, the community is in close proximity to numerous medical facilities, shopping, dining and entertainment.


Sterling Place offers spacious rooms, a large communal dining area, community living room and game room, and a library, among other amenities. Three daily meals are served in the community’s formal dining room. Meals and housekeeping are included in monthly fees. Residents are welcome to invite visiting guests to share meals at the community. The community also arranges transportation to medical appointments and shopping areas.


Staff at Sterling Place arranges an array of regular activities each day. For residents looking to stay physically active, there are a number of different exercise classes geared toward seniors, such as strength training. Other common activities include bingo or poker games, computer classes, jewelry making, movies nights and happy hours. Worship services are held on Sunday.

The community also organizes regular outings to local restaurants, shopping centers, and casinos, among other local sites.


Although Sterling Place is an independent living community, residents can also receive home care from the community’s on-site nursing staff if needed. This allows residents the independence they’re accustomed to with the assurance that they can access health care or assistance in their own home.

Get Costs

Map of Sterling Place

Get Costs

Get Costs

Sterling Place

  • By clicking "Get Costs", you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Agreement to be Contacted by Telephone. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you about senior living solutions or Medicare insurance using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service.