State Driving Laws in Utah
Specific rules for older drivers
- Drivers 65 and older must pass a vision test.
- Utah accepts requests from family, friends and others for the DLD to conduct investigations into possible unsafe driving.
Standard driver's license renewal
- License renewed: Every 2 years.
- Renewal conditions: Online or in-person depending on the status of your license.
- Vision test: Yes.
- Written test: No, unless driver has had 4 or more traffic citations in 5 years.
- Road test: No, unless examiner questions driver's ability.
For more information
Department of Public Safety
Driver License Division
PO Box 144501
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501
Stay Connected With Caring.com
Get news & tips via e-mail