State Driving Laws in New York
Specific rules for older drivers
Standard driver's license renewal
- License renewed: Every 5 years for initial renewal; subsequent renewals every 8 years.
- Renewal conditions: In person or via Internet or mail. No matter how a license is renewed, if the driver has or has been treated for certain medical conditions, such as hearing impairment, heart ailment, lost use of a limb or eye, convulsive disorder, or any condition that causes unconsciousness, he or she must submit a medical form that can be either mailed or shown in person.
- Vision test: Yes.
- Written test: No.
- Road test: No.
For more information
New York State
Department of Motor Vehicles
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
212-645-5550 or 718-966-6155 (New York City metro area)
800-342-5368 (for area codes 516, 631, 845, and 914)
800-225-5368 (for all other area codes)
518-473-5595 (outside the state)
Stay Connected With Caring.com
Get news & tips via e-mail