State Driving Laws in Arizona

Arizona

Specific rules for older drivers

Those 65 and older must renew every 5 years and pass a vision test.

Standard driver's license renewal

  • License renewed: Only after age 65 (younger drivers must take a new photo and vision test every 12 years, but renewal is not required).
  • Renewal conditions: At age 65, reduction of cycle to 5 years (from 12 years)
  • Vision test: Yes.
  • Written test: No, unless recommended by the Medical Review Program based on reports of compromised driving ability from physicians, law enforcement, emergency medical providers, concerned citizens and/or family members, or a Motor Vehicle Division personnel observation.
  • Road test: If recommended by the Medical Review Program based on reports from physicians, law enforcement, emergency medical providers, concerned citizens and/or family members, or a Motor Vehicle Division observation.

For more information

Arizona Department of Transportation
Motor Vehicle Division
PO Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100
602-255-0072 (Phoenix)
520-629-9808 (Tucson)
800-251-5866 (elsewhere in Arizona)
www.azdot.gov/mvd/index.asp

Other States


Stay Connected With Caring.com

Get news & tips via e-mail